Network Manager applet stuck on "no connection" but OK

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Network Manager applet stuck on "no connection" but OK

Post by arjay » Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:33 pm

Like all the distros I have tried (a good dozen or so in my time) mint insists on setting up a dynamic address for me, but my network and ISP demand a static address. I now know how to set that up, but on the way I had to disable and re-enable the network.

All now works fine, but the Network Manager Applet (version 0.6) is stuck showing "no connection". I have removed the applet and then put a new copy on the kicker, rebooted the PC and a few other things but it persists in showing me as unconnected. Any ideas on how to reset it?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:16 pm

This is obviously something people thinks about.
If you mean the icon looking like two monitors in the bar you wont see any action.
This is not a bug, but close to.
"since you are managing the wired network from the administration area, most likely using a fixed IP"
it wont work. See this thread
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1764
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

arjay
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Post by arjay » Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:38 pm

Husse wrote:This is obviously something people thinks about.
If you mean the icon looking like two monitors in the bar you wont see any action.
This is not a bug, but close to.
"since you are managing the wired network from the administration area, most likely using a fixed IP"
it wont work. See this thread
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1764
Hmmm - thanks for the link, but then what is the point of the applet?? on another machine I am using simplymepis and the applet (Knemo) works fine even though i have a fixed ip address etc. Perhaps I should look for a network manager applet that works? :wink:

Richard

NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 771
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Post by NiksaVel » Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:36 am

the point is to easily switch between different wifi networks and a wired network with DHCP.

If you are using only a wired network (without DHCP) you really don't need it.

arjay
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Post by arjay » Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:38 pm

niksavel - thanks for the helpful reply. At least I now know what it's for. :oops: I really like Mint except for gnome. When the KDE version comes out I will probably put Mint on the other PCs in my network. Then I may need the applet as I have wireless on one half on the network.

RJ

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”