Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:16 pm

I have a Netgear wnr2000v4 router, directly connected to the computer, which I seem to have messed up. So, I did a factory reset and all the lights on the panel seem to be fine. The problem is that I can't seem to connect to it. I also have no internet access. Is there something I am supposed to do with a network management program to get it to see the router?

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:27 pm

Did you reboot your computer after the reset? Maybe it gets a new local IP-address.

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Thu Dec 03, 2015 5:00 pm

I actually turned the machine totally off and then on again. What is the wired entry supposed to look like? (or any other entries that I am supposed to have.)

Do I have to change something in the network manager, or is it supposed to be refreshed with good information after a router reset and reboot?

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:09 pm

I have a wnr<similar_model>
The default address for the admin portal on my model is http://192.168.1.1/index.htm
default I believe is admin/admin

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:49 pm

I tried:
http://www.routerlogin.com
http://www.routerlogin.net
http://192.168.1.1
http://192.168.0.1
http://10.0.0.1

In all cases I get "This webpage is not available."

I think the issue is with how the connectivity is defined in the Connection Editor. The only way I can get any internet connectivity seems to be just using the router as a pass through to the modem. In the Connection Editor I have under the following tabs:

General -- two check boxes to Automaticall connet and All users may connect
Wired: Restrict to device: eth0 (74:27:EA:23:CD:F8) other fields are blank
802.1x Security: Nothing filled in.
IPv4: Method says Automatic, but no fields are filled in.
IPv6: Method says Automatic, but no fields are filled in. Privacy says "Default"

netstat -nr was giving me the following when I had no connectivity at all:
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.122.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 virbr0

Now it is giving me:
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
0.0.0.0 96.32.64.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
96.32.64.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.240.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
192.168.122.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 virbr0

Back when I had no connectivity all the lights displayed on the router. Now I just have the power light displayed, but at least I have internet access.

Since they have no support, I am about to ready to trash this router and buy one from another company so that I can get some telephone support to get it set up. Either that, or give up on any wireless for my phone and other devices.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:24 pm

No sign of "DHCP" on the IPv4 Settings tab?

Is your computer's MAC Address 74:27:EA:23:CD:F8 ?
Open terminal and issue
ifconfig and look for "HWaddr"

They should match.

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:34 pm

The field for DHCP Client Id is empty. Yes to your question on MAC address. They match.

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:00 am

RVDowning wrote:netstat -nr was giving me the following when I had no connectivity at all:
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.122.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 virbr0

Now it is giving me:
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
0.0.0.0 96.32.64.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
96.32.64.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.240.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
192.168.122.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 virbr0
This interface looks "off" to me. virbr0
I have no such interface (but our systems may not be exactly the same. Our routers are almost identical)

Also, you have no gateway for the 192.168.x.x network.
Here's mine (santized)

Code: Select all

route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth1
24.249.xxx.xxx  192.168.1.1     255.255.255.255 UGH   0      0        0 eth1
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     1      0        0 eth1
The router should have assigned the 192.168.x.x IP to your network card via DHCP.
or other non-routable IP address network (10.x.x.x)

Can you give us the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Sn && route -n
please?

Attached is my settings screenshot

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:22 am

Easier c-line method:

Code: Select all

nm-tool | grep -iA7 "IPv4 Settings"
output please.

Thanks to Laurent85

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:30 am

I'm not at home at the moment, so won't be able to do this until this evening.

Do you want this data as my router is now, when it is essentially just in "pass through" mode to the modem, or after a router reset? (Or does it matter?)

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:36 am

After a reset, when you're home is fine.

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:41 am

Ok. I'll have to save the data off somewhere because I won't be able to access email, then try to set things back to where I have them now so I can access this forum again.

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:05 am

RVDowning wrote:Ok. I'll have to save the data off somewhere because I won't be able to access email, then try to set things back to where I have them now so I can access this forum again.
OK. so no reset!

Use this instead maybe:

Code: Select all

nm-tool | grep -iA7 "IPv4 Settings" | pastebin
and copy the short url here.

User Manual
Get Some !
Section titled "Cannot Log In to the Router" is of particular interest.

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:15 pm

I forgot that I had to reset my UPS this morning, so had lost power to the router. I again have no connectivity. When I did a netstat -nr I had NO entry. I recycled the router and now have again:

Code: Select all

netstat -nr  (again giving me the following with no connectivity )
Destination         Gateway     Genmask       Flags MSS   Window     irtt    Iface
192.168.122.0     0.0.0.0     255.255.255.0   U      0           0            0    virbr0

Unfortunately I don't remember what I did yesterday to get from this point to having connectivity again. :(

Since I had no internet I couldn't do any pastebin.

I'm going to have to do random things again when I get home to see if I can get connectivity back.

By the way, from googling around, virbr0 is probably related to internet connectivity from VirtualBox in which I occasionally run Windows.
"Libvirt virtual networking uses the concept of a virtual network switch. A virtual network switch is a software construct that operates on a host physical machine server, to which virtual machines (guests) connect. The network traffic for a guest is directed through this switch.

Linux host physical machine servers represent a virtual network switch as a network interface. When the libvirtd daemon (libvirtd) is first installed and started, the default network interface representing the virtual network switch is virbr0."

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:43 pm

RVDowning wrote:I forgot that I had to reset my UPS this morning, so had lost power to the router. I again have no connectivity. When I did a netstat -nr I had NO entry. I recycled the router and now have again:

Code: Select all

netstat -nr  (again giving me the following with no connectivity )
Destination         Gateway     Genmask       Flags MSS   Window     irtt    Iface
192.168.122.0     0.0.0.0     255.255.255.0   U      0           0            0    virbr0

Unfortunately I don't remember what I did yesterday to get from this point to having connectivity again. :(

Since I had no internet I couldn't do any pastebin.

I'm going to have to do random things again when I get home to see if I can get connectivity back.

By the way, from googling around, virbr0 is probably related to internet connectivity from VirtualBox in which I occasionally run Windows.
"Libvirt virtual networking uses the concept of a virtual network switch. A virtual network switch is a software construct that operates on a host physical machine server, to which virtual machines (guests) connect. The network traffic for a guest is directed through this switch.

Linux host physical machine servers represent a virtual network switch as a network interface. When the libvirtd daemon (libvirtd) is first installed and started, the default network interface representing the virtual network switch is virbr0."
I'm confused, are we trouble-shooing access to the router from a Virtualbox "Guest"?

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:33 pm

No, it has nothing to do with anything. I only mentioned it because you said you didn't know what it was.

Ok, just had to recycle the modem and now I am back to my internet access again, with netstat -nr giving:

Code: Select all

Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
0.0.0.0         96.32.80.1      0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth0
96.32.80.0      0.0.0.0         255.255.240.0   U         0 0          0 eth0
192.168.122.0   0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 virbr0
The output from nm-tool | grep -iA7 "IPv4 Settings" was small, so I just included it here:

Code: Select all

  IPv4 Settings:
    Address:         96.32.88.147
    Prefix:          20 (255.255.240.0)
    Gateway:         96.32.80.1

    DNS:             71.10.216.1
    DNS:             71.10.216.2

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:46 pm

That's "progress" but your still not getting a DHCP address on your system. (192.168.x.x)

You are getting a Charter assigned IP (96.32.88.147)
Try http://96.32.80.1 and see if you can reach the router admin page.

Check the User Manual for clues please.
If you can reach it, immediately change the admin password.

RVDowning
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by RVDowning » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:51 pm

Negative.

The manual is useful once a connection to the router has been established. It is of no value prior thereto.

I'll just trash this router and get one from another manufacturer that offers support. Either that, or just do without one.

Thanks for your help.

By the way, I am not convinced it is a router issue. I think it is a Linux issue that prevents me from being able to access the router. Another option might be to try a different distribution.

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: 0.0.0.0

Re: Unable to access factory-reset wired router

Post by Habitual » Sat Dec 05, 2015 4:17 pm

RVDowning wrote:Negative.

The manual is useful once a connection to the router has been established. It is of no value prior thereto.

I'll just trash this router and get one from another manufacturer that offers support. Either that, or just do without one.

Thanks for your help.

By the way, I am not convinced it is a router issue. I think it is a Linux issue that prevents me from being able to access the router. Another option might be to try a different distribution.
I am not convinced it is a router issue either.
I wouldn't "trash it".
I think it's a Network Connection settings issue.
Have you tried deleting whatever is there and letting it re-create a new connection profile automatically?
A LiveCD should use a 192.168.x.x ip and should allow access to the admin interface.

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”