Mint 18.1 Networking Wizard/Tutorial? [SOLVED]

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
piso mojado
Level 2
Level 2

Mint 18.1 Networking Wizard/Tutorial? [SOLVED]

Post by piso mojado »

I'm brand new to Linux. I just installed 18.1 64-bit on a NUC6CAY which I want to network with an HTPC running Windows 7 and another Mac desktop running Sierra in order to share files.

I'm looking for an up-to-date tutorial, but most of what I'm finding is for older systems, talking about XP and such. I've read the word Samba a few times, but then again, this altair4 fellow says NOT to use it, there's a better, Linux way. However, when I tried to follow his guide, step 3 failed for me (a file wasn't created).

Nautilus-share? Nemo-share? Samba? I'm so confused!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Mint 21.2 Cinnamon 64 bit, kernel 5.15.0-91 on an Intel NUC6CAYH connected to a Samsung UN40EH5000FXZA via hdmi. Audio: Intel Celeron N3350/Pentium N4200/Atom E3900 Series Audio Cluster
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Mint 18.1 Networking Wizard/Tutorial?

Post by austin.texas »

The reason Step 3 failed for you is because that command works in Mint 17.3, which has the gedit text editor. You are using Mint 18.1, which uses the xed text editor.
So for you the command is:

Code: Select all

gksu xed /etc/avahi/services/samba.service
Also, please note that Mint 18.1 does not have samba installed by default. See instructions here
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
altair4
Level 20
Level 20

Post by altair4 »