ethtool curious message<SOLVED>

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
thatguy365
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:06 am
Location: Kentucky

ethtool curious message<SOLVED>

Postby thatguy365 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:18 pm

hello all, here is the message when i used ethtool
Settings for eth0:
Cannot get device settings: No such device
Cannot get wake-on-lan settings: No such device
Cannot get message level: No such device
Cannot get link status: No such device
No data available


My question is why would it say this when my desktop is hard connected. It is using the Ethernet port that is built into the desktop. my router is an arris DG1670 and is 1Gbit capable. not sure if my desktop is 1Gbit capable. Please forgive my ignorance

My internet works fine, it is just slower than i expected it to be.
Last edited by thatguy365 on Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ColdBootII
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:19 am

Re: ethtool curious message

Postby ColdBootII » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:42 pm

Because it's not eth0 but more likely something like enp3s0. Check the output of ifconfig and then use that name with ethtool.

User avatar
thatguy365
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:06 am
Location: Kentucky

Re: ethtool curious message

Postby thatguy365 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:06 pm

Thank you ColdBootII i had to use my brain on this one..... should have checked the forums sooner.

ColdBootII
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:19 am

Re: ethtool curious message<SOLVED>

Postby ColdBootII » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:13 am

Don't tax your brain thinking what's wrong with your ethernet card. If you don't see any RX/TX errors in output of ifconfig, discuss it with your ISP instead.


Return to “Ethernet”