Can't seem to get ethernet to work

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mungbean
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:33 am

Can't seem to get ethernet to work

Postby mungbean » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:53 am

hi i cant seem to get my ethernet to work, there seems to be 2 adapters and both of them are "disconnected" what can i do to connect them?

my ifconfig is as follows

Thanks

damian@damian-MS-7309 ~ $ ifconfig -a
enp0s7 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:85:36:dc:b6
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

enp2s0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr c4:6e:1f:01:d6:63
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:1037 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1037 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1
RX bytes:110109 (110.1 KB) TX bytes:110109 (110.1 KB)

wlp3s0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 18:d6:c7:28:7d:bc
inet addr:192.168.1.143 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::d54e:46b1:d85a:4dc2/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:59742 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:33699 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:83384205 (83.3 MB) TX bytes:3734277 (3.7 MB)

wlx74da38007f7b Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:da:38:00:7f:7b
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

where do i go from here?

i have tried 3 different cables in different sockets on my router

User avatar
Rebel Dog
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:05 am

Re: Can't seem to get ethernet to work

Postby Rebel Dog » Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:18 am

Is this a new install? I have seen this in New Installs when something does not go quite right.
Exiled, I have no country

User avatar
coffee412
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:38 pm
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Re: Can't seem to get ethernet to work

Postby coffee412 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:53 am

wlp3s0 - Is that your wireless? Or do you have 3 ethernets in your computer?

Have you gone into network manager and configured your network cards?

Can you share a bit more info on your system hardware?
Ryzen x1800 Asus Prime x370-Pro 32 gigs Ram RX480 graphics
IceWarp * Samba AD * Mint 18.1 * RAID 1/5 * OpenVPN * Linux since kernel 2.0.36


Return to “Ethernet”