No ethernet on home connection

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
kobinzky

No ethernet on home connection

Post by kobinzky »

Hello!

I apologize in advance for my english, it's not my first language. I'm a total Linux noob, and I installed Linux Mint 8.3 Sylvia three days ago on a HP 620 laptop. I cannot make ethernet work: when I plug the cable, I get the "Connection Established" message, but then I cannot browse and Driver Manager says "Please connect to the Internet".
Strangest thing is I have this problem only on my home connection: ethernet works when I use the connection of a friend of mine.
I'm sure the cable is working (I tried it on another computers) and with other computers my router does work (I have an old 7616 kbps connection; other computers are a Win7, a Win10 and a Linux Xubuntu, never had problems with them; I'm now writing from the Win7). I have not a wifi connection at home, but the laptop can connect to university wireless.
I've extensively searched for a solution online, and the only (temporary) solution I found was adding the line "ethtool -s autoneg off speed 100" to /etc/rc.local. Sadly, it lasted ten minutes, and then ethernet was gone again. I tried to delete the line and add it again, but no luck. It's three days I'm working on it.

Any help is really appreciated.
Thanks,

Kobinzki
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Flemur
Level 20
Level 20

Re: No ethernet on home connection

Post by Flemur »

Try some of the things suggested here:
viewtopic.php?f=150&t=268658