Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
willtco
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:42 am

Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by willtco » Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:01 am

Hi,
I have just installed Julia 10 Mint gnome 32 bit etc on an old IBM Thinkcentre. Synaptic manager returns with a whole bunch of errors, and Firefox reports "The connection was reset - The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading." - I suspect it's not talking to the wired network. As there seems to be no active connection in 'network connections' 'Auto etho' shows 'last used - never' after several attempts to run firefox. I am fairly new to linux so I'm hoping it's something simple (other than me). - Thanx for reading and double thanx if you can help.

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2134
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by trytip » Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:21 am

try https://antixlinux.com/ it's well known for using a lot less RAM and should detect your hardware. i can't speak for mint 10 if repos even work. what do you see in iwconfig doing nslookup yahoo.com does it return anything and complete the task?
Image

User avatar
karlchen
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9311
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by karlchen » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:13 pm

Linux Mint 10 "Julia" passed the end of its supported life quite a few years ago. You should really not use it in 2018 at all, in particular not, if you intend to access the internet with it.
The list of currently supported Linux Mint systems can be found here: Linux Mint Releases
Depending on your hardware, you may be better off with one of the recommended light-weight Linux distributions, which have been created to be run of outdated hardware as well.
Image
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 64-bit
Ubuntu 18.04.1 32-bit Mate Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 32-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

willtco
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:42 am

Re: Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by willtco » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:38 am

Thanks for the replies, I was looking for a distro that would fit on a CD as the PC does not have a DVD reader - so it had to be less than 700MB as an ISO. I then did a google for lightweight distros, and the only sub 1GB I could find (after a short search) was this, no mention of it being out of date, I'll start another quest!

User avatar
smurphos
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1576
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by smurphos » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:53 am

Can it boot from USB?

if not I recently discovered this - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Insta ... /MinimalCD.

It's tiny (58MB for the 18.04 iso) and lets you pick and chose elements (including Desktop Environments) during the install - it needs a net connection to actually download them. I've not properly tested it as yet, but it looks like it should do the job.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7397
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by Pierre » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:05 am

the operating system given by trytip is the system that you should try out:
http://antix.mepis.org/
as it is designed for those older machines.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8455
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by jimallyn » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:58 pm

smurphos wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:53 am
Can it boot from USB?
If it can boot from CD, then it can boot from USB using PLOP:

https://www.plop.at/en/bootmanagers.html

I would install several Linux distributions to USB sticks, use PLOP to boot them, and try them out and see what you think.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”