Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
willtco

Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by willtco »

Hi,
I have just installed Julia 10 Mint gnome 32 bit etc on an old IBM Thinkcentre. Synaptic manager returns with a whole bunch of errors, and Firefox reports "The connection was reset - The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading." - I suspect it's not talking to the wired network. As there seems to be no active connection in 'network connections' 'Auto etho' shows 'last used - never' after several attempts to run firefox. I am fairly new to linux so I'm hoping it's something simple (other than me). - Thanx for reading and double thanx if you can help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
trytip
Level 14
Level 14

Re: Installed Julia 10 (32 bit) - fails to see/use wired network

Post by trytip »

try https://antixlinux.com/ it's well known for using a lot less RAM and should detect your hardware. i can't speak for mint 10 if repos even work. what do you see in iwconfig doing nslookup yahoo.com does it return anything and complete the task?
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Post by karlchen »

Linux Mint 10 "Julia" passed the end of its supported life quite a few years ago. You should really not use it in 2018 at all, in particular not, if you intend to access the internet with it.
The list of currently supported Linux Mint systems can be found here: Linux Mint Releases
Depending on your hardware, you may be better off with one of the recommended light-weight Linux distributions, which have been created to be run of outdated hardware as well.