Server not found errors

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
kmph
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:18 pm

Server not found errors

Post by kmph » Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:19 pm

I enter linuxmint.com in firefox. Get Server Not Found. I enter forums.linuxmint.com, same. Google works fine. downforeveryoneorjustme - Server Not Found. Wikipedia - works. I try a few other sites, Server Not Found.

confused?

I click internet connections icon to the lower right next to clock. I switch ethernet off and on. Try those sites again. They work!

What happened?

LM19x64Cinn

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 23201
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Server not found errors

Post by xenopeek » Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:13 pm

Around the time of your post I also had timeouts for linuxmint.com and the forums. downforeveryoneorjustme at the time said it was just me. I say gremlins.
Image

kmph
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by kmph » Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:16 am

Same stuff again. forums.linuxmint.com not working, google working, downforeveryoneorjustme.com not working, switching ethernet off and on seems to have fixed the issue.
xenopeek wrote:
Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:13 pm
I say gremlins.
Persistent are those gremlins, arent they? :)

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by gm10 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:17 am

The forums here have irregular short timeouts several times a day. You get used to it, usually recovers after a minute or less.

kmph
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by kmph » Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:48 pm

gm10 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:17 am
The forums here have irregular short timeouts several times a day. You get used to it, usually recovers after a minute or less.
Except the forums are not the only site that produces these errors, as I was saying in both of my posts above.

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by gm10 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:00 pm

kmph wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:48 pm
gm10 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:17 am
The forums here have irregular short timeouts several times a day. You get used to it, usually recovers after a minute or less.
Except the forums are not the only site that produces these errors, as I was saying in both of my posts above.
Sure, but I can only contribute the info that I have, which is about this site, not the other one you mentioned. /shrug

If you are convinced the error is on your end maybe try a different DNS server, at least that would be the first thing I would check.

kmph
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by kmph » Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:01 pm

gm10 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:00 pm
If you are convinced the error is on your end maybe try a different DNS server, at least that would be the first thing I would check.
Problem is, the first time I started experiencing these was when I upgraded from LM18.1 to LM19.

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by gm10 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:06 pm

kmph wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:01 pm
gm10 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:00 pm
If you are convinced the error is on your end maybe try a different DNS server, at least that would be the first thing I would check.
Problem is, the first time I started experiencing these was when I upgraded from LM18.1 to LM19.
The general response to that we'll give you here is to do a clean install then. Upgrades are known to create issues, and it's rarely worth the time trying to find out what happened. Maybe somebody has seen this before and has an idea.

I don't know how reproducible and frequent the issue is for you but you could verify by using the LM19 live USB for a while to make sure it doesn't happen there as well.

kmph
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by kmph » Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:10 pm

gm10 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:06 pm
The general response to that we'll give you here is to do a clean install then. Upgrades are known to create issues, and it's rarely worth the time trying to find out what happened.
My bad. By "upgrade" I meant clean install. I formatted the old LM18.1 partition and installed LM19 cleanly.

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by gm10 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:21 pm

Ah. Well, it's hard to say anything at this point, we'd need more information. When you get it next time, see if you can ping the sites (ping -c3 host), for example.

Also obligatory

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
maybe you've got a known problematic network chip/driver.

kmph
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by kmph » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:34 pm

gm10 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:21 pm
Also obligatory

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
maybe you've got a known problematic network chip/driver.

Code: Select all

m@m-X555LJ:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: m-X555LJ Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: X555LJ v: 1.0 serial: N/A
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X555LJ v: 1.0 serial: N/A
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: X555LJ.504 date: 08/04/2015
Battery    BAT0: charge: 30.9 Wh 96.1% condition: 32.2/37.3 Wh (86%) model: ASUSTeK ASUS status: Discharging
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-5200U (-MT-MCP-) arch: Broadwell rev.4 cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 8787
           clock speeds: max: 2700 MHz 1: 1999 MHz 2: 1788 MHz 3: 1833 MHz 4: 1313 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 5500 bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GK208M [GeForce 920M] bus-ID: 04:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: modesetting,nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 5500 (Broadwell GT2)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Intel Broadwell-U Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-36-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (9.7% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST500LM030 size: 500.1GB temp: 34C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 229G used: 46G (21%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-2: /boot size: 462M used: 153M (35%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 39.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 36.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2400
Info:      Processes: 217 Uptime: 1:49 Memory: 1377.1/3847.5MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
Will do the pings if / when I get the problem again

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by gm10 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:52 pm

There was an update to the driver for that chip in the -35 version of that kernel. I don't place a high likelihood on that being the reason but you could try an earlier kernel to be sure.

Also I saw this thread just on the front page about the network cutting out. It doesn't match your situation since I understand your network connection is stable, but I'll link it anyway, maybe something comes from it: viewtopic.php?f=150&t=278759

Don't forget that it's still entirely possible that it's nothing on your end at all and the timing of the upgrade was just coincidence.

kmph
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by kmph » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:11 am

gm10 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 2:21 pm
Ah. Well, it's hard to say anything at this point, we'd need more information. When you get it next time, see if you can ping the sites (ping -c3 host), for example.

Code: Select all

m@m-X555LJ:~$ man ping
m@m-X555LJ:~$ ping -c3 google.com
PING google.com(waw02s14-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:805::200e)) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from waw02s14-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:805::200e): icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=9.47 ms
64 bytes from waw02s14-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:805::200e): icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=8.66 ms
64 bytes from waw02s14-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:805::200e): icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=6.73 ms

--- google.com ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 6.730/8.288/9.470/1.152 ms
m@m-X555LJ:~$ ping -c3 downforeveryoneorjustme.com
connect: Network is unreachable
m@m-X555LJ:~$ ping -c3 linuxmint.com
connect: Network is unreachable
m@m-X555LJ:~$ ping -c3 google.com
PING google.com(waw02s17-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:807::200e)) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from waw02s17-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:807::200e): icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=8.78 ms
64 bytes from waw02s17-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:807::200e): icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=9.55 ms
64 bytes from waw02s17-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:401b:807::200e): icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=5.96 ms

--- google.com ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 5.964/8.100/9.550/1.542 ms
m@m-X555LJ:~$ 
Again - google.com is working, many other sites are not working, ethernet off and on fixes the problem

I guess now it's time to revert to an earlier version of kernel...

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Server not found errors

Post by gm10 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:22 am

Thanks. From the looks of that I suggest you disable IPv6 for your connection unless you need it for something specific and see if that helps. Mint menu > Network Connections > double click your connection > IPv6 Settings > set Method: to Ignore > Save > disconnect and re-connect the connection.

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”