Data Use Acculation for a span of time [Closed]

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2875
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Data Use Acculation for a span of time [Closed]

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:33 pm

Does Linux Mint have an accumulated Data log?
1) downloaded data used
2) uploaded data use?



I am currently on a landline DSL ISP service....


This is an Unlimited Data plan at 11 down, 1.0 up max data.

Costs me $60/month before applicable taxes.

My problem is that the reliability is the pitts.
So much so, that I am considering trying out a Satellite based service,
but at $70/month for their cheapest plan which is 2.5 times faster than what I have now,
it is hard for me to make a decision on it... because Sat service is variable depending on customer demand at any given time.... but, so is my local AT&T service, so nothing different really.

DirecTV in my area is reasonably stable, only have problems during extreme severe weather...
so nothing is perfect in our world...

Fiber cable will never, ever, be available here...

So, I need to know how much data I am using.

My ISP modem is showing me this:

Image

Notice that they only log outages Greater Than 15 minutes


I have a separate Uptime Data Monitor program
https://netuptimemonitor.com/
which shows the exact time an outage occurs and how long it lasts. that has been useful in getting AT&T to do work, but they never, ever, FIX IT...
they just change parts and walk off saying "let's see how this goes"

The Uptime Data Monitor logs show continual outages all thru the day of 2 minutes 10 seconds....
2 days ago, there was 27 outages over a 24 hour period, so that totals nearly an hour of "out of service".
Last edited by AZgl1500 on Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 23195
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Data Use Acculation for a span of time

Post by xenopeek » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:52 pm

vnstat looks promising to be useful for that, see https://humdi.net/vnstat/. You can install it through Software Manager.

I picked that as the best fitting suggestion—as it keeps history, which is what you need—from this list of tools you can use for network bandwidth monitoring: https://www.tecmint.com/linux-network-b ... ing-tools/
Image

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2875
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Data Use Acculation for a span of time

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:11 pm

Thank you for that....

called the ViaSat representative, and he has agreed to let me use his Test Station for 5 to 7 days sometime next week.

so will have two internet providers for a brief period of time.

closing this for now.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2875
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Data Use Acculation for a span of time [Closed]

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:15 pm

Checked into vnstat, seems that I must have installed it a while back,
as it produced this picture tonight. This is just my personal laptop....
I need to somehow, figure out a way to get the same data for the Modem's throughput so that I can monitor 3 laptops and one desktop, plus a couple of Kindles that view NetFlix...


Image

although, when I tried to get that picture, discovered that vnstati was not installed.
fixed that....

Thanks for the reminder, will be able to monitor how we are doing now.

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”