Now it works, Now it doesnt?

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
plowran
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Now it works, Now it doesnt?

Post by plowran » Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:22 pm

Hi every one
Last night I installed a few programs thru the software portal and then attempted to start up Beryl.
The screen just went blank White. I let it sit there hoping it would do something over night, but no luck.
This morning when I restarted the machine I cannot get Mint on the internet.
I try messing with the settings but nothing,
Now im on my Vista Disk and the net Works 123.
By The Way, This is a wired connection, Im not gonna try and tackle my wireless yet, it cant even find that yet.
Any help is good help
Thnx
Phil

plowran
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Post by plowran » Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:34 pm

is there a way to completely kill neworking and possibly reinstall it so it may possibly start fresh...aparently a new install cant fix that

User avatar
newW2
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 821
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Post by newW2 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:41 pm

I don't use KDE much, but this should work for KDE as well I think. Open terminal and enter the following code to restart the network connection.

code: sudo /etc/init.d/dbus restart

That's what I was doing when network manager didn't want to start reliably. the hairy_Palms recommended:

"i recommend running this command in a terminal,
sudo apt-get remove --purge network-manager
then restart, thers no need for network manager when your wired. then your internet should work fine."

You can always use synaptic to reinstall network-manager when you are ready for wireless fun.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Mon Aug 27, 2007 5:20 am

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
Then look in the troubleshooter for the live CD on how to fix some networking problems
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... or_envy.3F
You mention two problems all mixed up - do I understand you right that the screen is no longer "blank White"?
That is a Beryl problem - for a solution search for beryl white in the forum, and mark "Search for all terms" and you'll find a bunch of solutions
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

plowran
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Post by plowran » Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:35 pm

yea the blaning out is a Beryl problem i need to get the correct NV driver installed, I just kinda put that in there to complete the story on what happened. I left it on all night at that screen and the next morning with a restart i couldnt get online.
thanks for the responce guys ill try that out tonight

oxala75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:01 pm

Post by oxala75 » Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:23 pm

i have the exact same problem, except that i'm wireless -- after i installed some updates and tried Beryl (for which I got the white screen and then rebooted) my wifi wouldn't work anymore. Actually, it was that I couldn't even see my NIC in Network Manager. I'm attempting to do a clean reinstall now and see if that helps.

I have a D-Link WDA-1320 (AR5005G chipset, i believe).
It worked perfectly in Ubuntu Feisty, and worked at first with Cassandra full.
What's up with this?

p.s.: problems using my Wifi CD's drivers since they are .exe and not .inf (damn you D-Link..!)

EDIT: Actually, I did find what I think are the appropriate .inf files online; if the reinstall doesn't work permanently, maybe now I can give ndiswrapper a shot.

*sigh*
Linux is definitely the dream girl that plays hard-to-get.

oxala75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:01 pm

Post by oxala75 » Sat Sep 01, 2007 4:04 pm

okay, so i've reinstalled now, and wifi works right out of the box (all I had to do was select my network and enter my passkey).

notably, i haven't yet installed the HAL(Hardware Abstraction Layer 0.5.9-1 ubuntu2) that is already set for me to d/l and install via the Update Manager. This means that I am still using the (restricted) Atheros HAL that swung into action as soon as I had installed Mint.

So, will my wireless disappear once I update the HAL? if so, screw that.
Does anybody know?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sat Sep 01, 2007 4:43 pm

As a reinstall takes not even half an hour you could test before you do to much with the install.
If that breaks it, reinstall and in synaptic lock the HAL to that version
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

oxala75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:01 pm

Post by oxala75 » Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:08 am

yes, reinstall was very fast.
so far, wifi has not disappeared, even though i went and updated the HAL.
i haven't tried Beryl this time around, though. i think i won't.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sun Sep 02, 2007 6:57 am

Beryl has nothing to do with networking, but as you suspect that it did do nasty things to your wireless - yes, don't use it
Try to see if you find anything in your system that could have an impact on it (not easy at all I know)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

plowran
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Post by plowran » Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:45 am

Ok People
From my previous Thread
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4799

I was having an issue that I couldnt figure out, my Net wouldnt connect to anything so I could get online.
I was given 2 seperate SUDO commands

Quote:
sudo /etc/init.d/dbus restart

And...
Quote:
sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart


But They Didnt Change the situation. I just plugged in my Vista drive for about 3 days and then went back to Linux to find out that some how my connection was now available again.
Now Im having the same problem again,. I cannot get online and I tried the commands again, but i dont wanna wait for another few days, I would enjoy making this my standalone OS, Its got all I need and is isnt a blown out SELL-OUT like SuSE.
Any Help is good help
Thnx
Philip

User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo » Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:13 pm

this sounds like a crazy hardware or networking problem.
ie there may be some other network service that is causing problems.

i suggest a reboot. there are things that are only run at boot (look in /etc/rcS.d/, the S is for startup not single).

and add "Ubuntu " to the beginning of the first line of /etc/issue.
(this is a bug fix for pre-KDE 3.0r1)

you may also want to restart dbus, restart networking and then restart dbus again. (instead of reboot).

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

plowran
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Post by plowran » Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:04 am

hi again everyone, i rebooted multipole times kernel .16, .16 recovery, .15, and .15 recovery and then i went so far as to do a reload for S & G's but still nothing, as soon as I plug the Vista Drive back it i have online access again.

User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo » Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:19 pm

this sounds like a bios/firmware issue.
when you plug in the vista drive the bios should reinitialise, give you a message and may say press F1 to continue.

what you could try is unplug the mint disk, boot, it will find no boot device, then power off put mint disk back in and boot. this may reinitialise the bios.

is there an update to the bios for your system?

it could also be an acpi issue. so disabling it at boot could fix it. not my favorite fix though.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”