Can not find the mount point

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
wa2n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:50 pm

Can not find the mount point

Post by wa2n » Mon Sep 24, 2007 3:38 am

Hi, I have a little problem here.

When I try to map a network drive on Mint, I simply right click the folder, and choose Connect to this server option. But I wonder if it 's mounted somewhere? Anyone can help?

Thanks...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:21 am

I don't use networking right now - have to check in on it if I get the time :)
But if I'm not completely wrong it's mounted in ~/Network
I presume you have not installed samba or some such but use the out of the box option (which is fusesmb)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

wa2n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:50 pm

Post by wa2n » Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:10 pm

Thanks Husse,
yes I can find the remote files on ~/Network folder, but something strange. In my ~/Network folder, I cannot browse the remote files that require a username and password. It says that I don't have a permission (without asking username/ password). But I found no problem when I open nautilus and choose Go>Network menu, fill my username and password, and I can access those files.
Can you tell me what's wrong? Please help...
Thanks.

Note:
Actually I have installed samba, and I can access the remote files by typing smb://server.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Tue Sep 25, 2007 6:30 am

Networking is my weak side .... (not how to connect, but the browsing part if you can say so)
I don't know why but this behavior seems to be common (perhaps normal) as I've seen it reported more than once :)
At least you can use the network and that's the main thing
fusesmb which is used by default is not all that good, but has the advantage that it "just works" according to Clem
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

wa2n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:50 pm

Post by wa2n » Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:29 am

Yes the main thing is I can use the network without problem.

But when I try to search a file in a remote system, I need it to be accessed as a local files (in ~/Network folder) since I couldn't type smb://server on my currently search program (I'm using catfish).

Is there another way to search a file over the network? :roll:

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:24 am

The answer may be in this link
https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+question/6656
but I can't connect to that server now so I don't know
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

wa2n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:50 pm

Post by wa2n » Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:28 am

I've tried this :
It's still not work for the remote system that requires an authentication.
:?

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”