Fusesmb

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
sonofmoog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:41 pm

Fusesmb

Post by sonofmoog » Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:54 pm

I have a Linux Mint Cassandra system successfully networked with two other PC's dual-booting XP and Kubuntu. I really like the default Fusesmb install of Mint. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe all I needed to do to enable Fusesmb was to check the box in mintConfig / mintDesktop where it asks Do I have a Windows network and do I want automatic browsing.

My problem is Fusesmb is not installed / enabled by default in my Kubuntu systems, and obviously, they don't have mintDesktop. So, my question is, what is mint doing behind the scenes? How can I recreate the steps to enable Fusesmb in Kubuntu?

TIA

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Post by merlwiz79 » Wed Sep 26, 2007 7:44 pm

Once it's installed you should be able to add it in mtab to have after you login.

Code: Select all

fusesmb /home/merlwiz79/Network fuse rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,max_read=32768 0 0
Just edit what you need and it should work the same.
Image

User avatar
sonofmoog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:41 pm

Loading Fusesmb

Post by sonofmoog » Thu Sep 27, 2007 6:55 pm

Thanks for the reply. What I wound up doing (before posting my question in this forum) was to invoke fusesmb from /etc/profile, like this:

Code: Select all

fusesmb $HOME/Network
This works, and I don't think there's any problem doing this, but I didn't see anything in my Mint /etc/profile, and wondered how Mint did what it did. You've answered that.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:02 am

add it in mtab
huh?
I've learned that mtab is a system generated file you don't edit.....
Could you expand on this merlwiz?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Post by merlwiz79 » Sun Sep 30, 2007 1:34 pm

Husse wrote:
add it in mtab
huh?
I've learned that mtab is a system generated file you don't edit.....
Could you expand on this merlwiz?
This is the line mintDesktop adds to mtab to mount the Network folder for browsing Windows Networks.
I just told sonofmoog to add it to his mtab.
I wouldn't edit anything else in there.
Image

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:44 am

OK that makes sense - didn't know that
but it's lost at reboot
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Post by merlwiz79 » Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:33 pm

Husse wrote:OK that makes sense - didn't know that
but it's lost at reboot
It does I didn't know that.
Well go a homemade mintDesktop I made for XFCE CE installed in KDE CE.
You can just make a script example networking.sh

Code: Select all

fusesmb $HOME/Network -o allow_other
Save it where you want ie /usr/bin/
Then edit /etc/kde3/kdm/Xstartup mine is called mintDesktop.sh

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
# Xstartup - run as root before session starts

PATH="$PATH:/usr/bin/X11"

if [ -e /etc/nologin ]; then
  # always display the nologin message, if possible
  if [ -s /etc/nologin ] && which xmessage > /dev/null 2>&1; then
    xmessage -file /etc/nologin -geometry 640x480
  fi
  if [ "$(id -u)" != "0" ] && \
     ! grep -qs '^ignore-nologin' /etc/kde3/kdm/kdm.options; then
    exit 1
  fi
fi

/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintDisk/mintDisk.py
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintAssistant/mintAssistant_launcher.sh
/usr/lib/linuxmint/xfcemintDesktop/mintDesktop.sh
if grep -qs '^use-sessreg' /etc/kde3/kdm/kdm.options && \
   which sessreg > /dev/null 2>&1; then
      exec sessreg -a -l "$DISPLAY" -u /var/run/utmp \
                   -h "`echo $DISPLAY | cut -d: -f1`" "$USER"
      # NOTREACHED
fi
Image

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Fri Oct 12, 2007 5:46 am

Nice

yes mtab is really reserved for the system - you are not supposed to edit it :D
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”