Web Server

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Natwest
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Dundee, Scotland

Web Server

Post by Natwest » Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:33 pm

I have a PC that i intend to use as a server but I'm confused! Do I still need a domain name or what. Or would it be better just to go to hosting company with Linux/Mysql etc...

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Web Server

Post by scorp123 » Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:45 pm

Natwest wrote:I have a PC that i intend to use as a server but I'm confused! Do I still need a domain name or what.
If you need that server to be reachable from outside for others: Of course. :lol: And not just a 'domain name', you of course need a fixed IP address too, and that costs money as well. :D

Or am I misunderstanding you? You really want this server to be reachable from outside, right? e.g. host your own company's web site on it?

On second thought: Are you really really sure that you really want to run your own server? With that little knowledge you seem to have this can become quite a challenge for you. From that point of view going to a hosting company might be the better choice.

User avatar
Natwest
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Dundee, Scotland

Post by Natwest » Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:48 pm

Thanks for the input, I have read that many pages regarding servers that I can't see the wood for the trees. I think it would be best to just go to a ISP. By the way it wasn't a company site but one for union reps from various unions who work retail shops to air their views.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:53 am

Search for (free) webhosting and you'll find too any alternatives :)
The better ones can help you with domain and all that follows from that
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
D-EJ915
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Post by D-EJ915 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:45 am

You can use a computer on your own connection just fine to run a server, but I wouldn't do it for anything serious. I have my own server, but it's just for personal stuff.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:45 am

D-EJ915 yes - but if you want to serve the public in general you have to get yourself a way to always have the same address. Most ISPs do not have static IPs so you'd at least have to use a service that takes care of changing IP (goto if my memory serves me)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jmwenz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:07 pm

Post by jmwenz » Tue Oct 02, 2007 5:57 pm

Husse wrote:D-EJ915 yes - but if you want to serve the public in general you have to get yourself a way to always have the same address. Most ISPs do not have static IPs so you'd at least have to use a service that takes care of changing IP (goto if my memory serves me)
No-ip is a service that you can run in the background that provides dynamic DNS redirection. You can sign up for free redirection from their site. http://www.no-ip.com

Once you have an account on their site you can then install the no-ip package from the repo.

sudo apt-get install no-ip

sudo no-ip -c

You then have to redirect the correct ports to your computer from your router.

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 » Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:48 pm

jmwenz wrote: You then have to redirect the correct ports to your computer from your router.
I think that may be beyond his levels of knowledge ... with all due respect.

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”