Acessing windows servers...

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Acessing windows servers...

Post by jbaerbock » Sat Oct 06, 2007 4:39 am

Ok this is just something I would like to eventually get working, not like life or death. In windows I can type \frida to access the student files server here at my college (it would then show folders and when I try to access mine it would ask for my password).

How would I access this folder in Mint? I tried looking for it via network in home but that doesn't get me where I need to go. I prefer a gui solution such as using something right in nautilus but anything would be nice.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:45 am

Lets see what we've got
In windows I can type \frida to access
Type where?
Mint has fusesmb installed by default and it lets you see what's using the workgroup MSHOME on the network - this is how many home networks operate. However at college they are likely to use domains not workgroups and I think you have to use samba. The best may be to ask the server admin at your college for advice
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Post by jbaerbock » Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:42 pm

I would type that into My Computer in windows. And it is a domain name and a server. Problem is I have tried typing a few things into nautilus with no sucess.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:08 am

I'm forgetting Windows :)
Is a standard Windows?
I know you can do that in explorer (My Computer) but I don't know (any more) the details behind it
But I think it's using netbios (ugly ugly :))
So there may be something here
http://linuxplanet.com/linuxplanet/tutorials/1159/1/
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Post by jbaerbock » Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:38 pm

Yeah it would be standard WinXP. I'll give that link a look thanks.

cmost
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Newport, Kentucky

Re: Acessing windows servers...

Post by cmost » Sun Nov 25, 2007 9:34 am

When it comes to connecting to Windows shares, there's nothing quite as easy as smb4k. This application, which works well in both KDE and Gnome, is a complete solution to viewing, accessing and mounting all manner of Windows shares. It sits unobtrusively in the system tray. Give it a look; it's in the repos.

jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Re: Acessing windows servers...

Post by jbaerbock » Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:04 pm

Ah thanks I'll give it a looksee.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Acessing windows servers...

Post by Husse » Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:34 pm

Thanks, good tip - not that I've tried it, but Win - Linux can be a bit tricky :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”