No network: wired or wireless - Compaq

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
jimwelchok
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:44 am
Location: Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Contact:

No network: wired or wireless - Compaq

Post by jimwelchok » Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:19 pm

Compaq 4205US w/ Broadcom 4306/3 for wireless and a Realtek for wired.
Linux Mint 10 installed on HD. Want to donate this laptop to a "working poor" family.
Neither wired or wireless works, but both work fine on another Mint laptop.
Trying to install Broadcom diver manually, no luck so far. Installed both, firwware and driver.
If I could get the wired to work, then I can use the built-in b43 installer.
Also tired USB/ethernet, bot not joy there either.

TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1362
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: No network: wired or wireless - Compaq

Post by TBABill » Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:22 pm

Since you said you installed the b43, have you tried

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”