wired connection is active but nothing can access the web!!!

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:04 pm

I surrender :)
The guy does not mention a router, I assumed he had one and then these IP addresses in the 75 range would be wrong, and I have seen external addresses appear on the "inside" of a broadband router more than once :)
(where, when and how is long forgotten - luckily)
But if he does not have a router then this line:
net addr:192.168.254.1 Bcast:192.168.254.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
from the output of ifconfig is really odd.
Come to think of it, what if the ISP uses a "private net" to connect a group of people to the internet (a block of flats maybe)
Then I would not be surprised to find problems.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 » Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:58 am

Husse wrote:But if he does not have a router then this line:
net addr:192.168.254.1 Bcast:192.168.254.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
from the output of ifconfig is really odd.
Come to think of it, what if the ISP uses a "private net" to connect a group of people to the internet (a block of flats maybe)
That's a possibility ... I've seen ISPs's who do that, e.g. to save "official IP" addresses to customers who pay extra $$$ for static IP addresses, the rest is squeezed into private address ranges ... :?

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: wired connection is active but nothing can access the we

Post by scorp123 » Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:05 am

echo5delta wrote:My adsl connection (Seimans speedstream 4200 adsl modem over ethernet) works fine on Windows XP and SUSE Linux 9.2.
Is this still like that? E.g. you still have Win XP and SUSE on your system and the ADSL connection does work there? Could we try a few things from within Windows XP and/or SUSE (SuSE preferred)? There are a few shell and/or "CMD" commands that we could try so we could see what WinXP and SUSE are doing different how come it works there ... if you're still interested, that is? :wink:

Regards,
scorp123

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:09 pm

pashabear wrote:
Windoze also shows my router's address as its DNS server.

Open a command prompt in Win XP and write ipconfig /all and you will get some useful information including the IP to you DNS server(s). BUT - I don't remember the outcome of this in the past and it might simply depend on the fact that I have added theese addresses in the network config of XP. They are also added in the router so it's not that easy for me to test the outcome when you don't specify the DNS servers
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”