Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
bird2010
Level 1
Level 1

Realtek - cuts in and out

Postby bird2010 » Mon Mar 19, 2012 3:22 pm

I have this device, "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller", for my wired Internet connection.

I started using Ubuntu. The Internet connection was VERY slow. I installed the latest Realtek driver and everything worked perfectly! I have the Ubuntu on a flash drive and it works. However, i read that Linux Mint was a lot better. I downloaded Linux Mint and, yes, I have to agree that I like the interface a lot more. I would like to use Linux Mint.

However, my Internet connection keeps cutting in and out every 30 seconds or so. :( I tried installing the latest Realtek drivers, but the installation failed. The worst part is that I lost the Internet connection completely! I had to go back to Windows and create a new Linux Mint 12 USB drive (using Pendrive software).

Please understand that I am very new to Linux. I know that I need to learn how to use Linux. Where can I get the latest Realtek driver that works with Linux Mint 12? How do I install the driver -- step-by-step -- recognize that I am a Linux Mint newbie who wants to learn and become part of the community.

Thanks!

bird2010
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Realtek - cuts in and out

Postby bird2010 » Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:03 am

I used the Menu | Other | Update Manager to update my Linux Mint installation. It took A LONG time and many restarts because of the faulty Internet connection. Once it was mostly updated, I googled Realtek and downloaded the Realtek driver ( http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/dow ... Down=false ). I used Menu | Places | Downloads to get to the downloads folder. I right-clicked on the file and chose "Extract Here" to produce a folder with the driver inside.

Then I opened a terminal window and used these commands. The commands are case sensitive:

cd Downloads