secureboot in mint 17 ??

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mbohets

secureboot in mint 17 ??

Post by mbohets »

In the mint7 blog I read: Edit by Clem: No, it won’t support secureBoot

This seems strange, as new PCs all come with the new UEFI secureboot thing which is mandatory to use W8, so I wonder what could be the reason for not supporting this feature ?
Also I see that Ubuntu supports this, and since Mint is based on Ubuntu, why is this not ported over to mint ? is this not a prime feature of open source that you are allowed to do that ?

On the other hand I see plenty of post about dual booting with W8, so how can you dual boot if mint does not support this boot method ?

It all seems confusing, but since I am new to this UEFI thing, I am probably missing something.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
eanfrid

Re: secureboot in mint 17 ??

Post by eanfrid »

Yes you probably missed something: https://www.fsf.org/campaigns/secure-bo ... /statement tells you what the FSF think about the benefits of "secure boot".
mbohets

Post by mbohets »

Thanks for the link, I signed the petition.

Technically I am still confused aibut the difference between UEFI and secureboot.
My interpretation of this was that M$ requires other OSs like linux to include a microsoft issued certificate to be able to boot
on PCs that are running W8.
As mint seems to be able to do that, I supposed that mint implemented this.
But when reading the mint 17 blog, I saw this remark from Clem that mint 17 will not support secure boot, so how will mint be able to boot in a W8 dual boot environment
without going into the bios to switch secure boot on and of depending on what OS you want to boot ?
DrHu