Way to Transfer desktops

Questions and thoughts about present and future editions
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
wwe9112
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:26 pm

Way to Transfer desktops

Post by wwe9112 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:47 pm

Is there a way to move from KDE to the other one and visa-versa without having to loose everthing, delete and restart and such?

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Way to Transfer desktops

Post by vincent » Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:56 pm

If you want to try out the KDE version of Mint, my recommendation is to burn it onto a DVD and test it out in a Live DVD session. If you like it, you could then shrink your existing Mint (Gnome?) partition and create another partition for Mint KDE, and then migrate your data from the other Mint to Mint KDE (the migration assistant in the Ubiquity installer should help with this).

You can also install a bunch of KDE packages from Synaptic/apt-get, and be able to switch between Gnome/KDE at login, but you probably won't like the mess of Gnome and KDE applications mixed together, not to mention all the extra libraries and dependencies you have to pull in. And this isn't guaranteed to work smoothly...while some people have reported success with this method, I would not recommend it.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

wwe9112
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:26 pm

Re: Way to Transfer desktops

Post by wwe9112 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:05 pm

OK, I think I am going to just stick with what I have now because I actually got a version of Linux I like lol. So I can't complain you know. I just wish it had like 3D desk top that would be amazing haha.

THanks for your help.

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Way to Transfer desktops

Post by vincent » Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:50 pm

If you want a "3D Desktop" (don't know exactly what you mean there...are you talking about those fancy 3D cubes, with a desktop on each side?), look no further than Compiz. First, open up a terminal and run the following:

Code: Select all

compiz-check
If all the checks pass, your system is capable enough of running Compiz and all its fancy desktop effects and visuals. Just look under mintMenu > Control Centre > CompizConfig Settings Manager for all the things you can tweak. Keep in mind that there are actually more Compiz plugins than the settings manager shows; run the following command to install those plugins:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install compiz-fusion-plugins-extra
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

wwe9112
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:26 pm

Re: Way to Transfer desktops

Post by wwe9112 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:08 pm

OK I installed it, how do I get stuff to show up on other sides of the cube? HA thank you this is cool :)

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Way to Transfer desktops

Post by vincent » Mon Jun 28, 2010 11:38 pm

mintMenu > Control Centre > CompizConfig Settings Manager. Under "Desktop", check the box beside "Desktop Cube". Then press "Desktop Cube". You can then play around with settings relating to your Cube...anyways, if you want a certain image to be shown on the top/bottom of the Cube, and/or an image in the background, check the "Appearance" tab.

I encourage you to play around with Compiz's settings. Everything you want should be there, but please do look around first before asking.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

Post Reply

Return to “About Mint Editions”