ADSL

Questions and thoughts about present and future editions
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
pariolly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:04 am

ADSL

Post by pariolly » Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:11 am

Will I be able to connect the ADSL wireles router if im usin Virgin Broadband? Hey sorry everyone, maybe I am little stupid.I just divorced with my husband and I'm getting my own life here.I want to get a wireless internet at home, just were looking in ebay and found that ADSL wireless router, I'm a customer of Virgin Media and I'm just wondering will I be able to connect and how do I connect it?
_________________________
yahoo keyword tool ~ overture ~ traffic estimator ~ adwords traffic estimator
Last edited by pariolly on Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1612
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA

Re: ADSL

Post by JasonLG » Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:56 am

pariolly wrote:Will I be able to connect the ADSL wireles router if im usin Virgin Broadband? Hey sorry everyone, maybe I am little stupid.I just divorced with my husband and I'm getting my own life here.I want to get a wireless internet at home, just were looking in ebay and found that ADSL wireless router, I'm a customer of Virgin Media and I'm just wondering will I be able to connect and how do I connect it?
You're probably better off using hardware provided by your ISP in your case as they will not give you much by way of tech support for an off the shelf router. And they more than likely will connect it for you or at least walk you through the process if you use their hardware.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.

User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: ADSL

Post by bobcollard » Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:13 am

As mentioned it is not a simple matter of buying just any router, however if you have some of the paperwork that came with your computer you should be able to make an informed decision. You need to know which kind of wifi board that is installed and whether it uses B or G routing. You may need to install the driver for your wifi also. Do a search concerning router installation and wireless drivers on this Forum to see how other people have handled it. Look for [Solved] topics.
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64

Erinsfan

Re: ADSL

Post by Erinsfan » Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:18 pm

pariolly,

The answer is it depends. Virgin offer cable and ADSL broadband. The easy way to check it to see what the modem is plugged into. If it is something that looks like a phone socket, it is ADSL. Cable normally uses a thicker round cable.

Now, if you buy a router, a cable one is used for cable and ADSL one for ADSL, they cannot be swapped around. You need to check because not all eBay people say which is which!

If you search Google for Hot UK Deals, they listed a couple of cable wireless routers for ~£20 recently. Else, PM me and I'll send you a link to some. There was a Netgear one with a wireless USB dongle -- all you need to connect to Virgin wirelessly.

Hope this helps to start. Else, repost or PM me.

Erin

User avatar
jesica
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2623
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:54 am

Re: ADSL

Post by jesica » Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:24 pm

I reckon it would
Image

Happy apt-get-ing!


Security is the separation of an asset from a threat.

Post Reply

Return to “About Mint Editions”