Mint Versions

Questions and thoughts about present and future editions
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
jfanthony

Mint Versions

Post by jfanthony » Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:03 pm

Can someone please explain or point me to guidance about what makes each version of Mint different? (i.e. Debain, LXDE RC, KDE, etc.) Also, does anyone have recommendations of a version for a netbook? I'm a Linux newbie, so please forgive my ignorance.

Beardedragon
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Mint Versions

Post by Beardedragon » Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:57 pm

jfanthony wrote:Can someone please explain or point me to guidance about what makes each version of Mint different? (i.e. Debain, LXDE RC, KDE, etc.) Also, does anyone have recommendations of a version for a netbook? I'm a Linux newbie, so please forgive my ignorance.
First, go to the Mint home page: http://www.linuxmint.com/index.php Try to read as much as you can about each of the versions. Remember that each version means a different desktop with different menus, styles and themes. If you find something interesting download it and burn a Live disk then try it out without installing a thing. Most netbooks are limited to HD space and or RAM. So something like LXDE or Fluxbox might work. Xfce is the next in line and each has it's own advantages. When I say, in line, I mean amount of space and memory needed to run it. LMDE (Debian) is using a different base than Ubuntu for the Gnome Desktop the same as the Main Linux Mint version. RC means Release Candidate, the last release before the Final. Hope this helps.
Robert Collard, Madison, WI
Linux Mint 19.2 Tina Kernel: 4.15.0-55
Desktop System: HP EliteDesk 705 G1 SFF
CPU: Quad Core model: AMD A10-6800K APU
NVIDIA GK208 [GeForce GT 720] nvidia v: 340.107
Acer Technologies 24" 1920 x 1080

Imhoteps
Level 2
Level 2

Post by Imhoteps » Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:59 am

Much depends on comp`s strenght you use. For weaker machines try lightwight environments - Fluxbox, LXDE.