Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Statham
Level 1
Level 1

What eddition should I choose?

Post by Statham » Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:37 am

Hello All,

I am fairly new to mint and need specific help on what edition/distro to choose for my current setup. I know there are lots of posts out there on this topic but nothing that I can tailor to my situation.

My pc has the following components

AMD Phenom 9750 Socket AM2+ 2.4GHz 4MB L2 Cache
MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX Socket AM2+ 8 channel audio
4gb 1066MHz/PC2-8500 Kingston Hyperx Memory
2x Kingston SSDNow V-Series 128GB Solid State Drive (SSD)

Note: 1 ssd for windows and 1 ssd for mint “so duel booting”

I am currently running Mint 10 after trialling it with my wife. However now is the time to reinstall for a fresh start. So whilst the natural solution is to upgrade to Mint 11, LMDE has also hit my radar.

I do like the fact that LMDE will have a faster boot (which is high on my wish list) and has rolling updates however I have read that it is also prone to bugs (which I don’t know if this is really true).

But then I do like that mint 11 is a stable system based on one of the most out of the box distributions out there.

I only use Linux for day to day practices like internet emails and the odd bit of media. Whilst my windows install is used for itunes and my games. However when I go to reinstall I will need to choose the correct edition as not to upset my wife to much by constantly changing my mind.

So to my question. From your experiences of both editions which do you think will be the best for me?

Many thanks for all you help in advance.....

tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14

Re: What eddition should I choose?

Post by tdockery97 » Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:21 am