Proxy works for FF, not for update manager / software center

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mjohn911

Proxy works for FF, not for update manager / software center

Post by mjohn911 »

I'm using Mint with KDE13 behind a corporate proxy for a linux box at work. I applied our system proxy in system settings > network settings > manually specified proxy.
http: proxy.xxx.xxx port 8080
ssl: proxy.xxx.xxx port 8080
ftp: proxy.xxx.xxx port 8080
socks proxy.xxx.xxx port 8080

After applying these settings, Firefox works, but I cannot get any software packages, updates, or use the apt-get commands from the terminal. I'm rather new to linux so please educate me on how to set up proxies for these (exactly what to type).

I had moved to Mint after trying the lastest Ubuntu, which, incidentally had an option to "apply system wide" in the proxy configuration box, and this made update manager and apt-get commands work from the terminal, but Mint seems to be missing this feature? But I hated the unity shell so now I'm with Mint.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Re: Proxy works for FF, not for update manager / software ce

Post by karlchen »

Hello, mjohn911.

I admit that I do not use the KDE desktop, but the Cinnamon and the xcfe desktops. So my steps may not apply literally. Yet I would be more than amazed if KDE did not offer the same configuration item.
In Cinnamon I go to Menu => Preferences => Network. Inside Network I select the third item, Network Proxy. Here I can specify my proxy settings manually and finally click on "Apply systemwide".

Doing so will work as expected, except for two things: