Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
u00abe1
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint File Sharing

Postby u00abe1 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 4:20 pm

Hello, newbie here. With XP riding into the sunset, I decided to take the plunge and go Linux Mint. I'm running Mint Petra on two laptops, networked together thru a wireless router. One machine runs Linux only, the second is my "old" laptop, dual boot Linux and Win 7. I would like to setup a simple file sharing network between the two laptops, even if it's a single folder on each machine, accessible thru Linux. I've got Samba on both machines, with the GUI. My problem is, I've found so many tutorials online that lead in different directions. I'm all confused. In my mind, this should be fairly simple to setup.

For now, I'm using Dropbox to share files. It works, but I have to upload to the cloud and then download again. I'd prefer to keep files within my network.

I'm very pleased with Mint so far. I've learned a lot over the last few weeks. If I can crack this issue, I'll be in good shape, I think. Thanks in advance.

altair4
Level 18
Level 18

Re: Linux Mint File Sharing

Postby altair4 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 4:42 pm

I've got Samba on both machines, with the GUI.

I don't know what "with the GUI" means but some samba utilities are actually quite dangerous - like gadmin-samba.

Anyway I will give you the 5 minute samba howto when using 2 linux machines - it's actually much simpler than when you have to deal with Windows:

Open Nemo - your file manager.
Right click your Public folder - it doesn't have to be your public folder but this is just an example.
Select "Sharing Options"
Select all the boxes
Select create share.

You have just created a samba share of your Public folder.

On the other Mint machine open a terminal and type:

Code: Select all

nemo smb://host-name.local/public