How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
apemanx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:21 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Post by apemanx »

Hi everyone

I know this type of question has been asked in history, but we're already in 2014, I can not find a newer post than 2011.

How do I split up my internet connections.
Can I for example
Tell Firefox to use eth0 (3g Dongle),
and force Transmission to use eth1? (ADSL) (or any program for that matter?)


On some command line parsing? or option? even a program? I know Windows has something that does split it, but not in this way...
Breaking and fixing is learning! This knowledge gained gives power. And power gives you freedom if used with wisdom!

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9785
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Post by Pierre »

if you know which HTTP port that each connection is using,
- then you can direct Transmission to use the port that is associated with the *dsl connection,
- in web client settings.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
apemanx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:21 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Post by apemanx »

Yep - I can get the ports or find them!

So I then connect the two connections so that both are "ON" and then in web client settings -- for that connection -- on the port -- I direct that application (transmissions) to that port. It will start using that connection? Do I understand the principle correct?
Just to be clear about the ports: is it correct that no single port can be on two connections at the same time?? - I'm not a frequent port shifting or scanning person.

It is great news that this can be done in some way! :o :D :idea:
Breaking and fixing is learning! This knowledge gained gives power. And power gives you freedom if used with wisdom!

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9785
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Post by Pierre »

" is it correct that no single port can be on two connections at the same time?? "

that conflict would stop the second connection, from even working.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
apemanx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:21 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Post by apemanx »

Now I feel like a noob - ok here I am one...

I thought I knew where to find " Web Client" you were talking about... Where can I find that?
Breaking and fixing is learning! This knowledge gained gives power. And power gives you freedom if used with wisdom!

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9785
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Post by Pierre »

in preferences - web - Web Client
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
apemanx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:21 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: How do (Can) I split my 2 internet connections?

Post by apemanx »

O!!

Got it thanks!
Breaking and fixing is learning! This knowledge gained gives power. And power gives you freedom if used with wisdom!

Post Reply

Return to “Other networking topics”