Connect DOS to Mint

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Dreamofgilgamesh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:04 am

Connect DOS to Mint

Post by Dreamofgilgamesh » Tue May 03, 2016 2:37 pm

Dear group, I hope you can help me out with this one. I've been playing with an old 90's vintage PC that i've installed DOS 6.2 on. I'm attempting to connect it to my Linux PC and i'm almost there.

I can ping my Linux box and my Wife and Daughter's Window 7 boxes. I can ping a web site and get its I.P address back. I can also ping the DOS box from the other PC's.
However, I can't see the DOS PC from any of the other PC's. I can however see it listed in my router as "unknown" Any idea on how i can make the DOS PC visible at all.
I have an idea it's something to do with a "NET" command. If i type C:\NET VIEW \\MARTIN-LINUX on my DOS PC it returns "SHARED RESOURCES AT \\MARTIN-LINUX and then shows a shared folder i made. But how do i see the contents of the folder and share them?

Any help will be gratefully received.

Thanks

User avatar
BigEasy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1152
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:17 am
Location: Chrząszczyżewoszyce, powiat Łękołody

Re: Connect DOS to Mint

Post by BigEasy » Tue May 03, 2016 2:53 pm

From DOS side it is simple:

Code: Select all

C:\>net use f: \\MARTIN-LINUX\SHARE
C:\>dir f:
Make Linux folder shared is simple too, but for Windows network...
Windows assumes I'm stupid but Linux demands proof of it

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6713
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Connect DOS to Mint

Post by AlbertP » Tue May 03, 2016 3:49 pm

Dreamofgilgamesh wrote: I can however see it listed in my router as "unknown" Any idea on how i can make the DOS PC visible at all.
I have an idea it's something to do with a "NET" command.
Windows computers make their name known to others in the network using the WINS service. On Mint, the nmbd daemon runs by default for the same purpose.
What I can find on the MS-DOS client, is that it only queries names of other computers with WINS, it does not register its own name. This may explain why the DOS computer is an unknown device in your router. (https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc750214.aspx)
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Dreamofgilgamesh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:04 am

Re: Connect DOS to Mint

Post by Dreamofgilgamesh » Tue May 03, 2016 3:54 pm

Oh thank you so much chaps, it's getting late now but I'll try that tomorrow and let you know how it goes.

User avatar
phd21
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6536
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Connect DOS to Mint

Post by phd21 » Tue May 03, 2016 4:12 pm

Hi "Dreamofgilgamesh",

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

If you can provide more information on this DOS computer's hardware, that would help, like system memory (RAM), graphics card (and its memory), CPU processor, hard drive size, etc... You might even be able to use a Linux OS, maybe even Linux Mint Xfce, instead of DOS.

You can easily run DOS programs in Linux Mint using the DOS emulator, "dosemu', which is available in the Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager (SPM), and there is "dosfstools", "mtools".

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Dreamofgilgamesh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:04 am

Re: Connect DOS to Mint

Post by Dreamofgilgamesh » Tue May 10, 2016 9:13 am

Thanks chaps, i gave your advice a go and it works a treat.

Post Reply

Return to “Other networking topics”