My Firewall app seems to be broken

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
gemk65
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:37 pm

My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby gemk65 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:37 pm

Hello,
Does anyone know how to fix this?

I have:
Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.2)
Kernel: 4.4.0-53-generic x86_64 64 bit (GCC 5.4.0)
Shell: Bash 4.3.461 (inxi 2.2.35)

1. When I click the Firewall icon in the Cinnamon Settings window, the Authentication screen is displayed, but even after I authenticate, the application does not open.

2. In Terminal, after I type the command "gufw", I receive the following:

openjdk version "1.8.0_131"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_131-8u131-b11-0ubuntu1.16.04.2-b11)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.131-b11, mixed mode)
/usr/bin/gufw-pkexec: line 15: 2715 Segmentation fault python ${LOCATIONS[${i}]} $1

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby MintBean » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:46 pm

If you type 'python' in a terminal, what python version does it show?

gemk65
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby gemk65 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:18 am

Thank you, MintBean!

When I type "python" in a terminal, the following text is returned:

Python 2.7.12 (default, Nov 19 2016, 06:48:10)
[GCC 5.4.0 20160609] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Tue Nov 14, 2017 9:19 pm

I have this same problem. Results are the same as the original poster.
I did an strace. https://gist.github.com/76067d0e7a72571 ... c6a9d2029a
Should I open a bug report on github? Thanks.

(edit) from the strace, I am missing three files or directories.

Code: Select all

 stat("/usr/local/sbin/pkexec", 0x7ffdd17f0100) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat("/usr/local/bin/pkexec", 0x7ffdd17f0100) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat("/usr/sbin/pkexec", 0x7ffdd17f0100) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)


What!

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby MintBean » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:04 pm

You can try, although I'm not sure it tells a lot. The thing is, this is not a widespread bug which suggests something is non-standard in your install.

Sorry OP for not responding previously, I must have missed your second post.

The 'missing' directories are a red herring - they're not on my machine either but it works fine. They are only stat commands, not attempts to access the files.

What desktop are you running prsman?

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:25 am

Code: Select all

System:    Host: star-sailor Kernel: 4.4.0-98-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.0.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M2N-E v: 1.XX
           Bios: Phoenix v: ASUS M2N-E 5001 date: 03/23/2010
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 svm) bmips: 4018
           clock speeds: max: 2200 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G72 [GeForce 7300 GS] bus-ID: 02:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1280x1024@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce 7300 GS/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 2.1.2 NVIDIA 304.135 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA MCP55 High Definition Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:06.1
           Card-2 Microsoft LifeCam VX-5000 driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 001-002
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-98-generic
Network:   Card: NVIDIA MCP55 Ethernet
           driver: forcedeth port: ec00 bus-ID: 00:08.0
           IF: enp0s8 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (13.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD2500JS size: 250.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 226G used: 28G (13%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 38.0C mobo: 40.0C gpu: 0.0:57C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2163 psu: 1028 sys-1: 2220 sys-2: 0 sys-3: 0 sys-4: 0
Info:      Processes: 156 Uptime: 2:04 Memory: 1005.4/3950.7MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35

Well this is strange. Just tried starting gufw, started twice, failed once. In auth.log this line is missing when it fails:

Code: Select all

Nov 14 20:13:16 star-sailor polkitd(authority=local): Operator of unix-session:c1 successfully authenticated as unix-user:prs-player to gain ONE-SHOT authorization for action com.ubuntu.pkexec.gufw for unix-process:8348:768801 [/bin/sh /usr/bin/gufw] (owned by unix-user:prs-player)


Any ideas or more info needed?

(EDIT) failed again after posting

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby MintBean » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:38 am

I'm out of ideas, but at least you have a bit more material for a bug report. Very unusual that it's intermittent.

Google does throw up some reports of the error, although from the (very cursory) look I took it seemed to be related to Wayland which isn't used on Mint. Might be worth taking a bit of a longer look through yourself. Post back if you have any joy.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=/usr/bin/gufw-pkexec:+line+15:+2715+Segmentation+fault+python+%24%7BLOCATIONS%5B%24%7Bi%7D%5D%7D+%241&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&gws_rd=cr&dcr=0&ei=VMQLWvy1NoPIa4yFnugD

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:46 am

Thanks MintBean. Will start to read. Might learn something. Thanks again.

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby MintBean » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:51 am

No worries.

Out of interest, what does it print if you paste this script into a text editor, save it as say 'test.sh', and run it by typing bash test.sh from the same directory? My system prints '/usr/share/gufw/gufw/gufw.py'

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
LOCATIONS=(
"/usr/share/gufw/gufw/gufw.py"
"/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gufw/gufw.py"
"/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/gufw/gufw.py"
"/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gufw/gufw.py"
"/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/gufw/gufw.py"
)

for ((i = 0; i < ${#LOCATIONS[@]}; i++))
do
    if [[ -e "${LOCATIONS[${i}]}" ]]; then
        echo ${LOCATIONS[${i}]}
    fi
done

User avatar
minitux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:05 am

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby minitux » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:28 am

Verify if python-goject is installed

https://www.google.it/amp/s/amp.reddit. ... _solution/
Sorry for my English, is not my language

When you ask for support, put the output of inxi -Fxz

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:13 pm

I think I did this right.

Code: Select all

prs-player@star-sailor ~ $ bash test.sh
/usr/share/gufw/gufw/gufw.py
test.sh: line 16: Top: command not found


From Synaptic I have python-gobject and python-gobject-2 installed, latest version.

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:27 pm

When it fails to run I get this in syslog:

Code: Select all

ernel: [ 4192.819674] python[5321]: segfault at 8 ip 00007f32476fe68f sp 00007ffd3aa3e540 error 4 in libGL.so.304.135[7f324765e000+ca000]


This is a segfault in my Nvidia driver 304.135 My video card getting flaky, may explain why it works and then does not.

gemk65
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby gemk65 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:56 pm

I have NVidia 304 as well, and it is quite old, so this may be the source of the problem.

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby MintBean » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:04 pm

If there's a newer driver recommended in 'Driver Manager' for your card I would try it.

@Prsman- you did it right. Rules out a hunch I had.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1701
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby JerryF » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:30 pm

Prsman wrote:I have this same problem. Results are the same as the original poster.
I did an strace. https://gist.github.com/76067d0e7a72571 ... c6a9d2029a
Should I open a bug report on github? Thanks.

(edit) from the strace, I am missing three files or directories.

Code: Select all

 stat("/usr/local/sbin/pkexec", 0x7ffdd17f0100) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat("/usr/local/bin/pkexec", 0x7ffdd17f0100) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat("/usr/sbin/pkexec", 0x7ffdd17f0100) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)


What!

It's not polite to hijack someone else's post.
Don't forget to edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject line if your problem has been fixed.
My main language is English. I speak very little Portuguese, and a whole lot of gibberish.

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby MintBean » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:45 pm

I think it's considered a hijack if the problem is different (even slightly). Here the issue appears identical so it's probably useful input.

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:02 pm

Found this on the 'net:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1603404

I think its time for a re-install. Since I get seg-faults in video driver I will try xfce.

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:30 pm

Can someone with a working gufw post the results of this command:

Code: Select all

ls -al /usr/bin/gufw-pkexec
:idea:

Thanks in advance

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby MintBean » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:53 pm

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 388 Feb 7 2016 /usr/bin/gufw-pkexec

User avatar
Prsman
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: My Firewall app seems to be broken

Postby Prsman » Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:01 pm

Thanks MintBean for the reply. I re-installed the OS and I still have this problem. In your post on Nov 15 with the script. If I do cat gufw-pkexec I have the word python whereas you have the word echo. Line 13.

if blah blah blah then
echo blah blah blah

I get

if blah blah blah then
python blah blah blah

File size and permissions are the same as yours. I guess the next step is to edit the file and see what happens. Are echo and python the same? Thanks again


Return to “Other networking topics”