[solved] Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
SpongeBob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:40 am

[solved] Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby SpongeBob » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:51 am

Hello people,

I'm trying Mint trough a live USB Stick (I'm planning to quit Windows since the release of the Win10)

I would like to remotely control few of my windows computers trough their RDP.

I read this topic: viewtopic.php?f=157&t=248165 and few other articles about remotely control win computer.

So the best for the moment seem to be : xrdp & remmina

Remmina seem support a lot of protocols ! good

But how install it on mint-18.2-xfce-32bit ? btw it is possible to "install" it on a live session or first I need to install Mint on the SSD/HDD ?

Thank you
Last edited by SpongeBob on Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3053
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby catweazel » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:01 am

Code: Select all

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:remmina-ppa-team/remmina-next
sudo apt-get update && apt-get install remmina remmina-plugin-rdp libfreerdp-plugins-standard

You can install it in the live environment but it won't stay installed if you didn't use persistence when you created the live USB.
Mint Donor #6036
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
SpongeBob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:40 am

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby SpongeBob » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:05 am

Thank you @catweazel !

I try that right away and let you know of the success of this.

User avatar
SpongeBob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:40 am

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby SpongeBob » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:22 am

Humm seem not working,

I've got this at the end of the two command:

http://i.imgur.com/LmABemR.png

and I don't find remmina in the start menu...

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3053
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby catweazel » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:31 am

Do you have a package manager or Mint software installer open on the desktop? If so, close it. Next, go into Software Sources, and under the Additional repositories tab, deselect the CD-ROM then update the cache and quit.
Mint Donor #6036
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
SpongeBob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:40 am

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby SpongeBob » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:53 am

catweazel wrote:Do you have a package manager or Mint software installer open on the desktop?
nothing was openned.


catweazel wrote:go into Software Sources, and under the Additional repositories tab, deselect the CD-ROM then update the cache and quit.

So I reboot the machine (live session) I deselct the CD-Rom source & upaded cache and re try your two command. but still not working... ->

Image

User avatar
karlchen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7876
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby karlchen » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:53 am

The commandline should have read:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install remmina remmina-plugin-rdp libfreerdp-plugins-standard
Note: There has got to be a "sudo" before the second apt-get as well. Try it this way, please.
Image
Old bugs good, new bugs bad! Updates are evil: might fix old bugs and introduce no new ones.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3053
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby catweazel » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:58 am

karlchen wrote:The commandline should have read:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install remmina remmina-plugin-rdp libfreerdp-plugins-standard
Note: There has got to be a "sudo" before the second apt-get as well. Try it this way, please.

:oops: Good catch. Thanks.
Mint Donor #6036
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
SpongeBob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:40 am

Re: Remote desktop mint to win7 trough RDP

Postby SpongeBob » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:24 pm

karlchen wrote:The commandline should have read:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install remmina remmina-plugin-rdp libfreerdp-plugins-standard
Note: There has got to be a "sudo" before the second apt-get as well. Try it this way, please.


Thank you ! I achieve to take to control of few machines in RDP ! Image


Return to “Other networking topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests