Page 2 of 2

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:33 pm
by altair4
Why did you mount //wdmycloud/public/Series twice? And to the same mount point? But as different users? One being root?

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:42 pm
by BearV
Not sure why that happened. I rebooted and mounted again and now it only shows once.

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 7:01 pm
by altair4
Way ... Way ... past my bedtime again so this is my last for the day.

[1] Unmount the Movies share:

Code: Select all

sudo umount /home/bearv/Movies
[2] Change the line in fstab to this:

Code: Select all

//wdmycloud/public/Movies /home/bearv/Movies cifs credentials=/home/.cifscredentials,uid=1000,gid=1000,nofail,user,nounix 0 0
Run this command to mount it:

Code: Select all

sudo mount -a
Does /home/bearv/Movies show the content you are expecting?

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:15 pm
by BearV
Yeah that shows my content. It still dismounts when rebooting though,

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 6:33 am
by altair4
BearV wrote:Yeah that shows my content. It still dismounts when rebooting though,
I am going to assume you mean it doesn't mount at boot.

The next time you reboot and it doesn't mount open a terminal and run:

Code: Select all

sudo mount -a
Does it now mount?

If it does I suspect it's what I warned you about:
[2] Remove the noauto option so that it mounts at boot. This can be an issue since the networking stack on Mint occurs so late.
So incorporate WharfRat's original suggestion to your line in fstab:

[1] Unmount the Movies share:

Code: Select all

sudo umount /home/bearv/Movies
[2] Change the line in fstab to add the noauto back to the like this:

Code: Select all

//wdmycloud/public/Movies /home/bearv/Movies cifs credentials=/home/.cifscredentials,uid=1000,gid=1000,nofail,user,nounix,noauto 0 0
Then you mount it as needed by selecting the Movies link under Network in your file manager.

Does /home/bearv/Movies show the content you are expecting?

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 7:32 am
by BearV
Yeah no problem. As I've said it's mounting fine with all those steps, and the icon is also actionable, which is the main thing, really, I can deal with that.

If you think it is an OS limitation with the networking stack causing it to not mount at boot then I guess there's not a lot more to try. I'll just manually do it after each boot is all.

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 7:53 am
by altair4
There is noting manual about it.

You open your file manager and select the Music folder on the left side panel under Network or just double click the icon on your desktop if your desktop shows you these things and it mounts. This is how all of my samba shares mount these days. In fact a wrote a whole howto on the subject.

Re: Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:04 am
by BearV
Well to be fair clicking a shortcut after each boot is still a manual task, albeit a very minor one. I'm still a newbie and learning Linux, so i'm just used to network mapping in Windows and never thinking about it afterwards.

No big deal, I'm really liking Linux Mint though.

Thanks for the help guys, i'll remark this as solved.

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:43 am
by WharfRat
@altair4,

Thanks for chiming in here with your expertise on this subject,

I'm wondering if it's too early to resolve the name wdmycloud/public in fstab, Perhaps the IP address would correct this :?:

@BearV

I'm not at all familiar with that thing, but is there a setup panel or something where you set things up :?:

If so can you setup a static IP and try that in fstab :?:

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:05 am
by altair4
From an end user perspective the flow is identical to Windows.

If I create a "map" of a Linux share in Win10 and open up notepad and do a File > Open my map is on the side panel of the notepad open dialogue:
MapDrive.png
If I create a similar entry in fstab with the noauto entry and open up gedit ( xed to you ) I get a similar entry to a Windows share:
MapDriveLinux.png
@WharfRat, a static ip address may help but I think the issue is the whole network stack in Mint. It takes twice as long for the network in Mint to be up and operational than it does in Ubuntu. I do not know why.

This type of problem where fstab is being executed before the network is up can and does happen in Ubuntu but nowhere near as often as it does in Mint. My solution in Ubuntu is to add a script to /etc/network/if-up.d that forces a mount -a after the network is operational

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:05 pm
by BearV
@WharfRat
I just gave the static IP a go and it's showing my content fine, but still no mount after boot.

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:27 pm
by WharfRat
Did you change the fstab line to //ip_address/public//Movies /home/bearv/Movies cifs credentials=/home/.cifscredentials,uid=1000,gid=1000,nofail,user 0 0

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:29 pm
by BearV
Yeah I did.

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:52 pm
by WharfRat
BearV wrote:Yeah I did.
Then it's probably the network stack in Mint as altair4 alluded to :?

It was worth a try though as there was really nothing to lose.

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:00 pm
by BearV
Yeah, ah well I'm happy that the mounting is now actionable and working regardless.

Once again thanks for the help.

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:12 am
by altair4
WharfRat wrote:
BearV wrote:Yeah I did.
Then it's probably the network stack in Mint as altair4 alluded to :?

It was worth a try though as there was really nothing to lose.
In fairness we really don't know for sure if using a static ip address would have worked or not because we really have no idea how it's being accessed. The description of what was tried and what was done has been very cconfusing.

Is the mount point under /mnt, /media, or in the home directory?
Is the credentails file in credentials=/home/bearv/.cifscredentials, the credentials were actually in /root, or credentials=/home/.cifscredentials ?

We kept getting an error message No such file or directory which was only resolved after adding the nounix option to the list of parameters in fstab yet:
WharfRat wrote:Did you change the fstab line to //ip_address/public//Movies /home/bearv/Movies cifs credentials=/home/.cifscredentials,uid=1000,gid=1000,nofail,user 0 0
BearV wrote:Yeah I did.
BearV wrote:@WharfRat
I just gave the static IP a go and it's showing my content fine, but still no mount after boot.

That should not have worked since the nounix parameter was missing.
BearV wrote:Yeah, ah well I'm happy that the mounting is now actionable and working regardless.
And it should not be actionable - at least not by a regular user - because the noauto option is missing.

I don't know if we can draw any conclusions based on the information in this thread.

Re: [SOLVED] Issues Mounting NAS Drive

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:04 am
by BearV
Yes very confusing I know, I apologise. I'm still a bit lost on some points also (mostly the different parameters) . I was going on the assumption at the beginning that we were using generic examples to get an idea of things. I could have saved us all time if I'd used my actual paths from the start. It didn't help that I went out of town midway through your assistance either.

altair4 wrote:
Is the mount point under /mnt, /media, or in the home directory?
Is the credentails file in credentials=/home/bearv/.cifscredentials, the credentials were actually in /root, or credentials=/home/.cifscredentials ?
I had no idea /mnt/ has an effect, I was using that as a generic path that I read in a separate article. As I corrected myself later: everything is under /home/bearv/Movies and, /home/bearv/Series . The credentials were originally in /root/ as I followed that in another article also, which was giving me the error No Such File or Directory when trying to click the actionable icon under network because I did not have elevated privileges. Once I moved it to /home/ did it remove this error. It wasn't because of the nounix addition.
altair4 wrote:
BearV wrote:@WharfRat
I just gave the static IP a go and it's showing my content fine, but still no mount after boot.

That should not have worked since the nounix parameter was missing.
Explain the nounix parameter to me, because it did work somehow.
altair4 wrote:
BearV wrote:Yeah, ah well I'm happy that the mounting is now actionable and working regardless.
And it should not be actionable - at least not by a regular user - because the noauto option is missing.
Hell I have no idea. It's actionable from the file manager on the left under network, I'm not getting the desktop icons you were mentioning until after I've mounted through the network icons.
altair4 wrote: I don't know if we can draw any conclusions based on the information in this thread.
It's a bit of a learning curve for me I know, but I'm getting the hang of the cl and finding my way around Linux. I've had no experience with this OS what so ever and I'm entirely used to using GUI's for my tasks a lot of the time, and the odd FTP and cmd on Windows. I'm taking it in; This may seem simple to you guys, but these initial hurdles will teach me a lot in my understanding in the long run.

I did say bare with me didn't I? :roll: