How to expose my LAMP server to the WWW?

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
DeadRinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:05 pm

How to expose my LAMP server to the WWW?

Post by DeadRinger » Thu Mar 15, 2018 10:23 am

HI,

I'm running 18.3 Cinnamon. I installed LAMP and PHPMyAdmin... ran the tests and so far so good.

I have a domain, that I can transfer to my server, but first I must learn how to expose my server to the web.

What I'm looking for is assistance/tutorials on how to expose the server to the web.
My server is on my wifi network, which is connected to my ISP router...
I have access to the router so I can port forward to my server, but I don't know what to do here exactly. Port forwarding from what I understand tells my ISP's router to open a port for my server and let it "hang out on the web" :D

GOAL:
I have a domain that I want to transfer to my server. Also, I have a SSL Cert already, but I need to give the LAMP server a dedicated IP address, not a dynamic ip... :shock:

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1976
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: How to expose my LAMP server to the WWW?

Post by MrEen » Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:50 pm

I'm pretty sure your first steps will be to have your ISP assign you a static IP addy, then log in to your registrar and have them point the domain to that IP. I have never done this myself, but I'm pretty sure those will be required for what you are wanting.

The rest I'll leave to others to assist with.

Good luck.

DeadRinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:05 pm

Re: How to expose my LAMP server to the WWW?

Post by DeadRinger » Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:46 am

UPDATE:

So, it seems NOIP.com is a solution to getting a static ip, which points to your dynamic ip and makes sure it remains pointing correctly by installing a DUC software, which updates every 5 mins, and for free but you have to confirm by clicking a link every 30 days...

Not ideal, but for FREE its a good start...

So far I have learned that if I continue to use my current host, I simply change the head to the DNS Zone change page in cPanel and edit the domain zone to my ip adsress.
Currently my ip address is static, unless my ISP router reboots for some reason, which happens rarely.

So provided I have a copy of my website on my server and I port forward the router this will work.

Final issue (which started all this) is to veryify that with my SSL cert. I will have to determine if having it sitting on my host is good enough or I need to install it on my server... Likely the latter...

If I wanted or opt to get rid of my hosting provider altogether, I suspect I will need to info the registrar and officially move it to my server...

Looking for any feedback on the above...

Post Reply

Return to “Other networking topics”