Trying to set static ip address

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TerryHaimann
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 9:38 am

Trying to set static ip address

Post by TerryHaimann » Tue May 08, 2018 10:04 am

I am trying to set up a static ip address on my network. And it did kind of work, but locked out my email which is Evolution, the web worked afterwards. This is on a LinuxMint 18.3 box. I need it to be static because it will be my samba server.

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
auto enp6s0
#iface enp6s0 inet static
#address 192.168.0.120
#netmask 255.255.255.0
#gateway 192.168.0.1
#dns-nameservers 208.67.222.222
#dns-nameservers 208.67.220.220
#dns-search itzgeek.local

I took this file and commented out the fourth line and uncommented the lines below that. So I translatesdtranslatesid a little research. Going back to previous state my settings are:

IP Address: 192.168.0.14
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
DNS: 192.168.0.1

My Internet Provider is Mediacom and I think the router updates the gateway and dns server addresses to the local computer. I tried setting the dns-nameservers to 192.168.0.1, but that did not work. Any suggestions?

Evolution is set to Defer to Desktop Settings

Thanks in advance, Terry

User avatar
tovian
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:17 pm
Location: Heart of Dixie

Re: Trying to set static ip address

Post by tovian » Tue May 08, 2018 11:19 am

Try setting your DNS server to 8.8.8.8 (Google public DNS). Then test again.
“I think that this situation absolutely requires a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part!"
"We're just the guys to do it.”

Animal House

User avatar
WiltshireJon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:14 pm

Re: Trying to set static ip address

Post by WiltshireJon » Tue May 08, 2018 11:31 am

I found the easiest way to do this was to let the router award whatever IP address it wanted, then tell the router to make this a static IP address for that computer. Worked across three linux and three windows machines which will now all talk to each other.

TerryHaimann
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Trying to set static ip address

Post by TerryHaimann » Tue May 08, 2018 1:43 pm

No, does not work.

Post Reply

Return to “Other networking topics”