Avhi-browse and Itunes sevices <SOLVED>

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Mildly_odd
Level 2
Level 2

Avhi-browse and Itunes sevices <SOLVED>

Post by Mildly_odd »

Hi
I'm a newbie, I recently discovered the avahi-browse command and am wondering what it means. Specifically I ran avahi-browse -a on my linux mint machine on a domestic network and amongst the entries were these:
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 Canon MG5300 series _canon-bjnp1._tcp local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 Canon MG5300 series UNIX Printer local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 Canon MG5300 series _scanner._tcp local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 WDMyCloud Apple TimeMachine local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 WDMyCloud Apple File Sharing local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 WDMyCloud _wd-2go._tcp local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 WDMyCloud iTunes Audio Access local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 Canon MG5300 series Web Site local
+ wlp2s0 IPv4 WDMyCloud Web Site local

The Canon ones relate to a network printer, the WDMyCloud is a NAS. These are the only things connected to the network other than the linux machine. I was wondering what the itunes/Apple services are as there is no Apple/Itunes products on the network
1 - are they processes that are running on the linux machine or the NAS is running itself (i.e. its not just a hard disk its effectively an independent computer running some itunes software)?
2 - could they represent a threat to the linux machine (e.g. something malicious given an innocent name or genuine corporate spyware)?

How do I stop the Itunes processes?

Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
altair4
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Avhi-browse and Itunes sevices

Post by altair4 »