Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
bigraial
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:18 am

Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Post by bigraial » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:22 pm

Good evening,

I've been using mint for about a year now without issues. Suddenly last week, my internet (both wired and wireless) suddenly cut-off on both of my Mint devices. By cut-off i mean that the wifi connection status is OK but I all requests to the internet result in a timeout

In further troubleshooting, I realized that:
- Windows devices work
- Windows works on one of my Mint devices that has a dual boot
- Android devices work
- Both devices work on external networks (ie coffeeshop)
- The devices can ping 4.2.2.2 from inside the LAN
- The router (AN5506-04) will not factory reset as per instructions found on the net (press sunken button with a pin)
- LiveUSB of Mint18 and Ubuntu16.04 both don't work

I don't think that there was a software update when it cut.

Does anyone have some tips on what I might try next to get this back up and running?

AscLinux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Post by AscLinux » Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:19 am

It appears you may be using DHCP to configure your networking and for some reason your Linux devices are not getting nameservers from DHCP server.

bigraial
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:18 am

Re: Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Post by bigraial » Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:17 am

We don't have a DHCP server within our LAN (unless there is a small one on the router). Would that suggest it is an ISP level issue? Seems like I am better off moving this over to StackExchange.

Are there any tips/tests I could do to further verify or troubleshoot this?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7770
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Post by catweazel » Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:37 am

bigraial wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:17 am
We don't have a DHCP server within our LAN (unless there is a small one on the router). Would that suggest it is an ISP level issue? Seems like I am better off moving this over to StackExchange.

Are there any tips/tests I could do to further verify or troubleshoot this?
Pull the power plug on the router. Count to ten before firing it back up.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

bigraial
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:18 am

Re: Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Post by bigraial » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:11 am

Cannot do this at the moment as there are other users. However, I had tried this several times.

As per my original post, I have also tried to apply a factory reset but that functionality appears to have been disabled by my ISP. When I press the sunken button, it begins flashing red, all users are cut-off from the internet for 12-14 hours, and the pre-reset (non-default) passwords are still in effect.

bigraial
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:18 am

Re: Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Post by bigraial » Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:37 am

Here is the thread where I have been troubleshooting network level issues.

https://serverfault.com/questions/93186 ... r-networks

bigraial
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:18 am

Re: Mint & Ubuntu don't work on LAN, work on other networks

Post by bigraial » Sat Sep 22, 2018 12:18 pm

As of today, I still believe this is an outage or some other error in my ISP's DNS servers

I found that adding a public DNS to a single device (including a LiveUSB/fresh install) using resolvconf allows me to get name-resolution back. I used directions from this post: https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... 506#163506

Unfortunately, I believe this is a poor solution since I need to apply this fix to each Ubuntu/Mint device on the LAN individually. As a longer-term solution, I'm planning to install a second router with a server between my LAN and the locked-down router/AP provided by my ISP.

It's still not clear to me why this affected linux devices but not windows or android but at least I am running again....

Post Reply

Return to “Other networking topics”