Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
sawan
Level 1
Level 1

Porting OpenVPN configuration from Windows

Post by sawan » Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:27 pm

Hi,

I have recently installed Linux Mint and have been very pleased with it. I have had OpenVPN installed on my windows installation for work access and am trying to move the OPENVPN to Linux Mint (So far the only reason to have to stick to Windows).

I tried to copy the config files and the key etc to /home/shafique folder but it seems not to work. Obviously some tweaking is required to the config file. I am finding it difficult to understand where as I am new to Linux. I am copying the 3688-101.ovpn file below

******************************************************************************************

Code: Select all

###################################################
#  OpenVPN Config Generated by Phill's BKO Setup  #
###################################################

# Specify that we are a client and that we
# will be pulling certain config file directives
# from the server.
client

# Use the same setting as you are using on
# the server.
# On most systems, the VPN will not function
# unless you partially or fully disable
# the firewall for the TUN/TAP interface.
;dev tap
dev tun

# Windows needs the TAP-Win32 adapter name
# from the Network Connections panel
# if you have more than one.  On XP SP2,
# you may need to disable the firewall
# for the TAP adapter.
;dev-node MyTap
;added sawan

dev-node Ethernet-2
# Are we connecting to a TCP or
# UDP server?  Use the same setting as
# on the server.
;proto tcp
proto udp

#tun-mtu 1500
#fragment 1300
#mssfix
ping 10
ping-restart 20
# The hostname/IP and port of the server.
# You can have multiple remote entries
# to load balance between the servers.
remote vpnsecure.retaildata.co.uk 1194
remote support.retaildata.co.uk 1194

# Choose a random host from the remote
# list for load-balancing.  Otherwise
# try hosts in the order specified.