Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
LK51
Level 1
Level 1

Mint as a starting point for remote Plex server

Post by LK51 » Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:39 pm

Not sure where to start, so I hope the networking sub-forum is the right place…

I want to set up an older computer as a server to provide content delivery for an in-home only wifi network for Plex. While I have very little knowledge/experience with networking per se, I have used Linux desktops for a while (mostly Mint) and understand at least the basic concept of what a headless server is. So here’s my “environment”...

LM 19.1 is running on my “production” desktop, and will be where any video editing and/or transcoding will take place. The server will be connected via LAN cable to my router. I want to keep the server on Linux OS as well, and access/manage it via my “production” desktop.

Being a “noob” to this process I want to keep things as straightforward as possible. I hoping some LM forum members who know this “turf” can point me to resources to learn how to accomplish this. I need to understand concepts like:
• Appropriate Linux server OS (e.g. Ubuntu Server, etc.?)
• Method for installing OS on server (can I accomplish this remotely via production desktop?)
• Method for installing Plex server app on remote server
• Assuring ease of file sharing between desktop and server

I know this is a big subject, and I have done some initial research via Plex forum and “Googling”. I’m hoping that there are some forum members who can point me to some next steps that work well with Linux Mint acting as the “command center” for this set up.

Thanks...

smurphos
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Mint as a starting point for remote Plex server

Post by smurphos » Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:31 am

Hi,