IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:27 am

I am running 19.2 on two different computers. On both computers when testing for IPV6 I get "No IPv6 address detected".

Both computers are dual boot windows& Mint. When running in Windows I will get a report for IPV6. If I am on WiFI or Ethernet the results are the same.

So why can't either computer find an IPV6 address when running Mint?
Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be ##.###.###.##

Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) appears to be COMCAST-7922 - Comcast Cable Communications, LLC

No IPv6 address detected [more info]

You appear to be able to browse the IPv4 Internet only. You will not be able to reach IPv6-only sites.

To ensure the best Internet performance and connectivity, ask your ISP about native IPv6. [more info]

HTTPS support is now available on this site. [more info]

Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have IPv6 Internet access.

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by trytip » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:14 am

ask your ISP about native IPv6
look in your router or ipv6 enable or call your ISP to ask if you have ipv6

i disabled ipv6 in router, i don't want ipv6 yet
Image

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:24 am

I have it on the router, there is an IPV6 address and whenever I test with windows it shows.

Disabled. Back in the days of having 17 on the two computers in question, I thing (can't remember for sure) that I used some terminal commands to disable IPV6. Now did I or didn't I do it is what I am really trying to find out and I would enable it again. I looked at # /etc/sysctl.conf and saw things about IPV4 and IPV6.

This is what I have but can't figure out if this file has anything that will enable or disable IPV6?
#
# /etc/sysctl.conf - Configuration file for setting system variables
# See /etc/sysctl.d/ for additional system variables.
# See sysctl.conf (5) for information.
#

#kernel.domainname = example.com

# Uncomment the following to stop low-level messages on console
#kernel.printk = 3 4 1 3

##############################################################3
# Functions previously found in netbase
#

# Uncomment the next two lines to enable Spoof protection (reverse-path filter)
# Turn on Source Address Verification in all interfaces to
# prevent some spoofing attacks
#net.ipv4.conf.default.rp_filter=1
#net.ipv4.conf.all.rp_filter=1

# Uncomment the next line to enable TCP/IP SYN cookies
# See http://lwn.net/Articles/277146/
# Note: This may impact IPv6 TCP sessions too
#net.ipv4.tcp_syncookies=1

# Uncomment the next line to enable packet forwarding for IPv4
#net.ipv4.ip_forward=1

# Uncomment the next line to enable packet forwarding for IPv6
# Enabling this option disables Stateless Address Autoconfiguration
# based on Router Advertisements for this host
#net.ipv6.conf.all.forwarding=1


###################################################################
# Additional settings - these settings can improve the network
# security of the host and prevent against some network attacks
# including spoofing attacks and man in the middle attacks through
# redirection. Some network environments, however, require that these
# settings are disabled so review and enable them as needed.
#
# Do not accept ICMP redirects (prevent MITM attacks)
#net.ipv4.conf.all.accept_redirects = 0
#net.ipv6.conf.all.accept_redirects = 0
# _or_
# Accept ICMP redirects only for gateways listed in our default
# gateway list (enabled by default)
# net.ipv4.conf.all.secure_redirects = 1
#
# Do not send ICMP redirects (we are not a router)
#net.ipv4.conf.all.send_redirects = 0
#
# Do not accept IP source route packets (we are not a router)
#net.ipv4.conf.all.accept_source_route = 0
#net.ipv6.conf.all.accept_source_route = 0
#
# Log Martian Packets
#net.ipv4.conf.all.log_martians = 1
#

###################################################################
# Magic system request Key
# 0=disable, 1=enable all
# Debian kernels have this set to 0 (disable the key)
# See https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/sysrq.txt
# for what other values do
#kernel.sysrq=1

###################################################################
# Protected links
#
# Protects against creating or following links under certain conditions
# Debian kernels have both set to 1 (restricted)
# See https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/sysctl/fs.txt
#fs.protected_hardlinks=0
#fs.protected_symlinks=0

###################################################################
# Improve cache management
vm.vfs_cache_pressure=50
# Decrease swap usage to a more reasonable level
vm.swappiness=10

User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9178
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by phd21 » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:34 pm

Hi urdrwho,

If your MS Windows has IPv4 and IPv6, then it is not your router or ISP, but something in Linux Mint. But, you would have had to change that because I don't think that is a default of Linux Mint.

You can check (edit) your local ISP connection to check the IPv4 tab and make sure the "use IPv4 only" is not checked. Check your "Grub" file to make sure it has nothing to prohibit IPv6.

I don't see anything in your "sysctl.conf" that would cause IPv4 only.

Have you updated your DNS servres and if so, how?

FYI: At this time, IPv4 only should not cause any problems. In fact, for some people disabling IPv6 will help.

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by trytip » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:11 pm

did you somehow disable ipv6 at boot? run this command in Terminal to find out

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep -i ipv6
Image

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:16 am

This is the response.

[ 3.234356] Segment Routing with IPv6
[ 33.642084] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): enp1s0: link is not ready
[ 34.010132] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): enp1s0: link is not ready
[ 34.239220] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[ 34.591921] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[ 34.709125] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[ 35.578158] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): enp1s0: link becomes ready
[ 158.233858] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlp2s0: link becomes ready

I am also considering that it could be a router issue. I have a gateway/router Motorola and with it is a TrendNet DD-WRT router. I am not sure if that router is setup for IPV6?

When I am getting an IPV6 yes response I am going through the Motorola Gateway/router.

Networking is the weakest link in my basket of what I can or can't do with computers. :)

So I removed this laptop from the Trendnet ethernet port to the Motorola ethernet port.

This is the terminal response and it looks the same.

[ 3.234356] Segment Routing with IPv6
[ 33.642084] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): enp1s0: link is not ready
[ 34.010132] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): enp1s0: link is not ready
[ 34.239220] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[ 34.591921] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[ 34.709125] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[ 35.578158] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): enp1s0: link becomes ready
[ 158.233858] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlp2s0: link becomes ready

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:14 pm

So to add to the confusion.

I also have mint 17.3 on another partition and I booted into it. It also has WICD installed as the network manager. When I go to the site to test IPV6 it passes but it I boot back into 19.2 and it fails.

I really get involved when I find something isn't working as it should and I've spent a lot of time trying to figure this out.

I tried to reinstall Network Manager and it will install but it won't run.

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by trytip » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:19 am

don't know what to tell you at this point. my output is this only because i disabled ipv6 at boot in mint19 and mint 17.3

Code: Select all

mint01 ~ $ dmesg | grep -i ipv6
[    0.000000] Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-142-generic root=UUID=699b2ac4-4e89-4054-ac7f-5b74e7de3889 ro ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash
[    0.000000] Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-142-generic root=UUID=699b2ac4-4e89-4054-ac7f-5b74e7de3889 ro ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash
[    1.212351] IPv6: Loaded, but administratively disabled, reboot required to enable
mint01 ~ $ 
keep at it, i know how it is when something doesn't function properly even if you disable it later. what do you have for /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
Image

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:48 am

I'll check when that computer is free to use.

I have to reverse something and that is the WICD on both computers. WICD is not on the laptop that does get an IPV6 address.

So I am leaning toward a problem in WICD and maybe in the newer version. The WICD version on Rosa is older and has a different GUI.

Now if I could only install Network Manager and have it work I think my problem would be solved.

My version of WICD is 1.7.4 and I found a report that 1.7.4 would not connect to an IPV6 only network. So maybe WICD has IPV6 issues???

"wicd: Does not work on IPv6-only networks"
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=854423
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=854176

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:37 pm

/etc/NetworkManager/dispatcher.d
/etc/NetworkManager/dispatcher.d/ntp

/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections
/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/Motorola
/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/MOTOROLA-F9DD0 2.4 ghz

trytip wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:19 am
don't know what to tell you at this point. my output is this only because i disabled ipv6 at boot in mint19 and mint 17.3

Code: Select all

mint01 ~ $ dmesg | grep -i ipv6
[    0.000000] Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-142-generic root=UUID=699b2ac4-4e89-4054-ac7f-5b74e7de3889 ro ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash
[    0.000000] Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-142-generic root=UUID=699b2ac4-4e89-4054-ac7f-5b74e7de3889 ro ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash
[    1.212351] IPv6: Loaded, but administratively disabled, reboot required to enable
mint01 ~ $ 
keep at it, i know how it is when something doesn't function properly even if you disable it later. what do you have for /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by trytip » Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:00 am

Code: Select all

xed /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
Image

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:01 pm

That folder is empty, nothing in it.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5583
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by all41 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 10:40 pm

IPV6 why won't don't I have it
Do you have a specific need for IPV6?

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by trytip » Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:23 am

Code: Select all

ls -la /etc/NetworkManager/
Image

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:41 am

No specific need but IPV6 is or will become an issue at some point. Some of the companies I do business with are very big and very security conciense. Because IPv6 also supports more-secure name resolution, native support for end-to-end encryption, secure neighbor discovery and other such things it most likely will be an issue for me. When? Soon, in the future, never....I can't say for sure. It can be said --- "But now, moving to IPv6 is becoming a matter of business continuity. We don't have the luxury of kicking the can down the road anymore."

ls -la /etc/NetworkManager/
total 24
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Sep 11 13:28 .
drwxr-xr-x 152 root root 12288 Sep 12 21:16 ..
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Sep 11 13:28 dispatcher.d
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Sep 11 13:19 system-connections

Also there is the anal part of me that always wants to fix it, to make it work as it should. :)

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by trytip » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:26 am

reinstall network manager

Code: Select all

apt install --reinstall network-manager
i would also try a new distro and test ipv6 in live mode. test arco linux arcolinuxb-cinnamon-v19.07.9.iso arco linux is arch based but you don't need to know anything about arch it works the same as any other live distro
Image

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:34 am

Using live Arch distro and I can get an IPV6 address. So the search for the culprit goes on.

Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be 98.237.121.25
Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be
it gave my IPV6 address

Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) appears to be COMCAST-7922 - Comcast Cable Communications, LLC

Since you have IPv6, we are including a tab that shows how well you can reach other IPv6 sites. [more info]

HTTPS support on this web site is in beta. [more info]

Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have IPv6 Internet access.

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:21 pm

I give up. I have no idea what is different between my Rosa install and my 19.2 install that makes the 19.2 not IPV6 capable.

User avatar
trytip
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by trytip » Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:26 am

Code: Select all

sudo touch /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
sudo xed /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
paste this, save and restart your network

Code: Select all

[main]
plugins=ifupdown,keyfile

[ifupdown]
managed=false

[device]
wifi.scan-rand-mac-address=no

Code: Select all

sudo service network-manager restart
Image

urdrwho
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:13 am

Re: IPV6 why won't don't I have it

Post by urdrwho » Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:16 am

There is another thing I am not sure why it is this way. On the Mate 19.2 my wifi device is wlp3s0 but when I am on the other partition (Rosa) the device is something like wlp0 (it is the one everyone mentions online). I'm bad a network stuff so I have to ask why would that be different???

Also I have tried and different ways to turn off the Wifi power management. Used different methods I found online but whenever I do iwconfig it shows that power management is still on.

I attempted the commands in the last post but nothing changed. I think that maybe WICD has to be removed and purged for network-manager to take over but then I may lose the WICD package to reinstall if I end up without a connection.

Post Reply

Return to “Other networking topics”