Page 2 of 2

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 4:09 pm
by altair4
Is there any way to put that launcher thing into fstab?
No.

CIFS in fstab is to mount a servers share. You cannot mount an entire server - only one of its shares. If you have 5 shares you need 5 lines in fstab.

When you run your launcher it is not mounting all those shares it's simply displaying all the shares available for you to mount.

WHat I do not understand is why when you connect to one of those shares and enter the user name and password and select Remember Forever it doesn't work.

All of those saved passwords should show up in seahorse which would make connecting to one of those shares in the future seamless.

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 4:37 pm
by muffybean
WHat I do not understand is why when you connect to one of those shares and enter the user name and password and select Remember Forever it doesn't work.
Yes altair when I initially started to do this, opening calypso in network.
3-calypso..png
The first one is afp://calypso.local/, 2 is smb://calypso.local/ and 3 is ftp://calypso.local/ Despite checking remember forever, 1 and 2 did not do this. 2 has started since I have done this fstab thing. I actually created a post viewtopic.php?f=90&t=304136 in which you responded. Looking at it again I have installed seahorse. BTW, the Synology settings link you pointed to me in the post are actually set.

Just opened Seahorse and see that all three protocols are now stored in there with username and passwords!

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:03 pm
by muffybean
I am now happy with the setup and have customised my desktop.
rename-shortcuts..png
rename-shortcuts..png (68.09 KiB) Viewed 1057 times
Now 1 labelled Synology is the fstab link that mounts my calypso.local/data folder and 2 is the launcher that opens caja smb://calypso.local showing all my folders in my NAS. As you can see I have customised the icons. However, I would like to rename the fstab one from Synology to Synology-Data This would make it clear as to which one I want to use. Is this possible?

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:28 am
by AndyMH
Right click on the icon and select rename.

Where did you get the icon you are using for calypso?

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:36 am
by muffybean
AndyMH wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:28 am
Right click on the icon and select rename.

Where did you get the icon you are using for calypso?
I tried right clicking the synology one that is generated by the line in the fstab file but the rename bit is greyed out. Can rename calypso but I am happy with that.

As for the icon I have attached two I got here.

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:40 am
by AndyMH
Second one is better - transparent background

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:21 am
by altair4
I would like to rename the fstab one from Synology to Synology-Data This would make it clear as to which one I want to use. Is this possible?
For an fstab mount to something under /media the resulting desktop icon label is the same as the name of the mount point folder. If you want the label to be synology-data then you have to create a mount point with that name:

Unmont the share:

Code: Select all

sudo umount /media/synology
Create the new mount point:

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /media/synology-data
Edit /etc/fstab and change the mount point from /media/synology to /media/synology-data so that it looks like this:

Code: Select all

//calypso.local/Data/	/media/synology-data	cifs	credentials=/etc/samba/credentials,uid=1000,gid=1000	0	0
Then do the systemd 2-step:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl daemon-reload

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl restart remote-fs.target

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 9:03 am
by muffybean
Thanks altair that worked fine. I now have an empty Synology folder in media now, is it ok to delete that?

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:11 am
by altair4
Yes. But please make sure it is empty before you delete it.

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:34 am
by muffybean
altair4 wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:11 am
Yes. But please make sure it is empty before you delete it.
It was the first thing I checked. Thanks kindly your advice and thank you to Andy.

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:57 am
by AndyMH
You might prefer this one:
Synology.png
Synology.png (6.3 KiB) Viewed 949 times
I've stripped out the background and resized to 96x96 and saved as a png. Better as a desktop icon.

Re: Have NAS connect at boot via fstab

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2020 8:50 am
by muffybean
AndyMH wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:57 am
You might prefer this one:
Synology.png
I've stripped out the background and resized to 96x96 and saved as a png. Better as a desktop icon.
Yes that is a lot better. Thanks for the upload.