Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
OptimusPrimeMint
Level 1
Level 1

DNS fun and games - the intention of connecting to a windows pc

Post by OptimusPrimeMint »

Unable to ping workstation by name, only IP. I can connect to the company VPN using swansong (forgive the spelling) client. The connection is established fine and I've noticed I can ping my windows pc by ip but not its host name.

I'm running linux mint 19.3 and seemingly theres something up with DNS but as I'm new to linux I'm unsure where to start. Next step is to sort the ability to rdp to the windows pc but that's another thing I'm working at solving.
deepakdeshp
Level 17
Level 17

Re: DNS fun and games - the intention of connecting to a windows pc

Post by deepakdeshp »

You can add hostname with IP in hosts file 8n Mint.
https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/serv ... osts-file/
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB
Kadaitcha Man
Level 9
Level 9

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

OptimusPrimeMint wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:50 pm
Unable to ping workstation by name, only IP. I can connect to the company VPN using swansong (forgive the spelling) client. The connection is established fine and I've noticed I can ping my windows pc by ip but not its host name.

I'm running linux mint 19.3 and seemingly theres something up with DNS but as I'm new to linux I'm unsure where to start. Next step is to sort the ability to rdp to the windows pc but that's another thing I'm working at solving.
At the top of the page, in red, it says...
Forum rules