2013: Taking the Mint userbase to the next level.

Share your ideas on how we can get Linux Mint better known
Forum rules
No support questions here please
sofasufi
Level 1
Level 1

2013: Taking the Mint userbase to the next level.

Post by sofasufi » Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:38 am

Hi all.

I'm a Mint newbie, having recently replaced XP with Mint 13, Cinnamon flavour. It was a big decision for me, as my notebook is my primary machine from which I run a marketing business. System failure is not an option & Mint is proving to be a rock solid, intuitive & beautiful OS.

My question for the community is this: What initiatives are underway to market the value of Linux Mint to the wider, non-Linux using community & what else can we do to help take Mint to the next level in 2013? Ubuntu looks set to continue in the Unity direction for the forseeable future & like it or not, the Gnome's seem intent on pursuing their current direction as well. For would-be Linux newbies who want to move away from XP & are considering Mac, I see Mint as being in the strongest position to gain new users - I'm sure the vast majority of you will agree & DistroWatch suggests the same.

Despite how fantastic Mint is, the fact is that the vast majority of desktop users have never heard of it. While the distro does not have the backing of a Shuttleworth - even Ubuntu remains unknown to the average desktop user, relatively speaking - Mint has a first class OS & a passionate, gifted community. Marketing is not a dirty word - far from it - and I believe that there is plenty of work to be done in this area.

If there already exists a group that are as passionate about marketing Mint to a wider audience as it's developer team are about growing & improving it, please point me in the right direction. If not, is there anyone who would like to get involved in collectively coming up with a simple, deliverable strategy to help take the Mint user base to the next level in 2013?

I look forward to hearing from you.