Garmin devices using open street maps

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:52 pm

Curious question I haven't yet found the answer to. Will devices that feature spoken turn-for-turn instructions still do so with open street maps?

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by Moem » Mon Nov 26, 2018 4:19 pm

Mine does, yes. It's one of the Nüvi models made by Garmin.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11834
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by WharfRat » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:59 am

I put open street maps on an older Garmin nuvi and the turn-for-turn instructions were fine.
ImageImage

chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:25 pm

Two positive responses. Guess the time has come to review the instructions on how to do that. Curious if after doing so you could still revert to the Garmin maps if desired? Or might it be like jail breaking an Apple product and learning it was one way only?

chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:28 pm

Hijacking my own thread. Garmin Express and VirtualBox. Doesn't find the Nuvi attached. Any other files to be added or configuration settings required for that to happen?

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11834
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by WharfRat » Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:34 pm

chiefjim wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:28 pm
Hijacking my own thread. Garmin Express and VirtualBox. Doesn't find the Nuvi attached. Any other files to be added or configuration settings required for that to happen?
I'm pretty sure you have to have the Oracle VB Extension Pack installed to get access to usb devices.
ImageImage

srq2625
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:35 am
Location: State: Constant Confusion, Country: D'oh

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by srq2625 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:36 am

WharfRat wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:34 pm
chiefjim wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:28 pm
Hijacking my own thread. Garmin Express and VirtualBox. Doesn't find the Nuvi attached. Any other files to be added or configuration settings required for that to happen?
I'm pretty sure you have to have the Oracle VB Extension Pack installed to get access to usb devices.
And your account has to be a member of the vboxusers group.

chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:38 am

Running into roadblocks here. Oracle VB Extension Pack installed and the vboxusers group is checked. Have tried two different cables. Both of which connect fine from my laptop running Win-7. But on each of my other machines running VB the Garmin never gets found.

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by Moem » Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:02 am

chiefjim wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:25 pm
Curious if after doing so you could still revert to the Garmin maps if desired?
Yes, that's perfectly possible. The device doesn't care who made the maps file, it will use any suitable maps file it finds.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11834
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by WharfRat » Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:14 am

I didn't need windows or garmin express.

I plugged it in and

Code: Select all

[bill@XPS] ~ $ mount|grep sdh
/dev/sdh on /media/bill/GARMIN type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1000,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,showexec,utf8,flush,errors=remount-ro,uhelper=udisks2)
[bill@XPS] ~ $ ls /media/bill/GARMIN
Garmin/  JPEG/  autorun.inf
[bill@XPS] ~ $ ls /media/bill/GARMIN/Garmin/
Diag/  ExtData/  gpx/  Help/  RemoteSW/  Text/  Vehicle/  Voice/  fs_image.ver  GarminDevice.xml  gmapbmap.img  gmapbmap.sum  gmapprom.img  gmapprom.sum  gmapprom.unl  GUPDATE.GCD  nuvi_drive.ico
[bill@XPS] ~ $ 
I had to put the open map on an sd card as there was not not enough internal memory.
ImageImage

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by Moem » Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:40 am

chiefjim wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:38 am
Running into roadblocks here. Oracle VB Extension Pack installed and the vboxusers group is checked. Have tried two different cables. Both of which connect fine from my laptop running Win-7. But on each of my other machines running VB the Garmin never gets found.
So why not go with your original plan, to use OSM and Linux?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 am

Moem wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:40 am
So why not go with your original plan, to use OSM and Linux?
Trying to cover multiple scenarios. I'm skeptical over how Garmin will handle the OSM. Currently when they, Garmin, have updated the maps my on the road results get wacky. That currently only gets resolved by using Garmin Express. Seems the software used and maps being used rely on each other.

chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:50 am

WharfRat wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:14 am
I didn't need windows or garmin express.

I plugged it in and

Code: Select all

 snip
I had to put the open map on an sd card as there was not not enough internal memory.
Need to put this thread on hold while I obtain a sd card. What capacity size might you recommend?

srq2625
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:35 am
Location: State: Constant Confusion, Country: D'oh

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by srq2625 » Fri Nov 30, 2018 9:31 am

chiefjim wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:50 am
WharfRat wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:14 am
I didn't need windows or garmin express.

I plugged it in and

Code: Select all

 snip
I had to put the open map on an sd card as there was not not enough internal memory.
Need to put this thread on hold while I obtain a sd card. What capacity size might you recommend?
As cheap as they are now, I would review the owner's manual for your device and get the largest it will handle - why buy it "just large enough" only to figure out 3 months from now that you should have gotten one quite a bit larger?

ETA: I've been wanting to move to OSM for a while now. I'll be "taking the plunge" this weekend - I found what appears to be fairly complete tutorials so why not? :)

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11834
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by WharfRat » Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:25 am

chiefjim wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:50 am
Need to put this thread on hold while I obtain a sd card. What capacity size might you recommend?
That old one that I have can only handle a 4GIG card.
ImageImage

chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:24 pm

Got the needed card. Trying to discover what web sites are best for downloads. OpenMapChest has a map I'd like but it won't save properly to the card. File is 4.1gb and card was formatted to FAT32. Card itself is a 16gb. I understand some Garmin devices balk at files that large but with the card still on this machine it won't save. File came from torrent, twice. Did not attempt a direct download as they want a donation first. Experience with the torrent hints that might be money wasted.

Any recommendations for USA maps? Hopefully something that may allow simple cross country navigation?

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by Moem » Fri Dec 07, 2018 2:15 am

See how you like the maps you can get from here: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

chiefjim
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by chiefjim » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:42 pm

Moem wrote:
Fri Dec 07, 2018 2:15 am
See how you like the maps you can get from here: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/
Mixed results. Sometimes I get the DOWNLOAD button but most of the time I don't. Tried looking in the FAQ's but no hints found as to why. Trying to select multiple tiles spanning several states always fails.

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11834
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Garmin devices using open street maps

Post by WharfRat » Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:31 am

ImageImage

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”