the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
AZgl1800
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7329
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes Sweeping down the Plains
Contact:

the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by AZgl1800 »

I am constantly having problems with accessing this forum.
It has been going on now for weeks, or months??

my ISP is now running at 150+ Mbs, so that should not be the problem

Some times, this causes Posts to refuse to be accepted....


Image
LM20.3 Cinnamon on an ASUS FX705GM laptop
Image
User avatar
GELvdH
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:10 am
Location: Havelock, NC USA

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by GELvdH »

Over the last 3 years I have had one instance like yours where I could not log in and that was when we had the solar flares a couple of weeks ago. Are you using a VPN? Just because the ISP is supposedly at 100+Mb's connecting speed does not mean that his connection is always there.
User avatar
Termy
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2025
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by Termy »

I've seen this quite often over the years too, even when not using any VPN.
Confused? Here's a guide to this board!
Psst... I'm Terminalforlife on YouTube.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9021
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by AndyMH »

I also see it on a fairly frequent basis, no VPN involved. I think it does go down regularly for maintenance?
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
rene
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9233
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by rene »

I've seen I believe daily at around 21:40 UTC but only for one / a few minutes.
gittiest personITW
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2898
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by gittiest personITW »

Once or twice a year I might get something like that (not 502) but a refresh works a treat after a few seconds.
Not a biggie.
User avatar
Lady Fitzgerald
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2567
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:12 pm
Location: AZ, SSA (Squabbling States of America)

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by Lady Fitzgerald »

I have it happen maybe half a dozen or so times a year. Sometimes, it stays down for quite a while. Though annoying, I'm not losing any sleep over it.
Jeannie

One has to be proactive, not reactive, to ensure the safety of one's data so backup your data! And RAID is NOT a backup!

Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.3 Cinnamon 64 bit - System 76 Serval WS (serw11) 17" Laptop
User avatar
all41
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7520
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by all41 »

Today my focal repositories were super slow--like 68 kBs
changed to faster mirrors to get 1518 kBs---20x faster.
Next time I may have to change back though.
User avatar
trytip
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5096
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by trytip »

AZgl1800 wrote:
Fri Jan 14, 2022 11:07 am
I am constantly having problems with accessing this forum.
It has been going on now for weeks, or months??
my ISP is now running at 150+ Mbs, so that should not be the problem
Some times, this causes Posts to refuse to be accepted....
change your DNS, do you know how? and disable ipv6 (it's ignore in network connections) try 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1
after change dns turn on/off the wifi or wired in network tray
Last edited by trytip on Sat Jan 15, 2022 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
AZgl1800
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7329
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes Sweeping down the Plains
Contact:

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by AZgl1800 »

I am using a pair of T-Mobile Hotspots, and have access to the Admin settings.

turned off IP6V

and changed the default from TM's internal DNS to what you said.

DNS.png

Will give that a whirl for a week or three and see how it goes.
LM20.3 Cinnamon on an ASUS FX705GM laptop
Image
User avatar
AZgl1800
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7329
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes Sweeping down the Plains
Contact:

Re: the server for this forum, is Off Line, as much as it is Online

Post by AZgl1800 »

just did a real fast run thru of about six of my favorite websites, and they are coming up much faster than before.

imgur.com was horrible before, requiring me to hit F5 several times before it would login correctly.

this time, it just popped up, logged in, and I could see all of my albums immediately.


thanks
LM20.3 Cinnamon on an ASUS FX705GM laptop
Image
Post Reply