Upgrading from LM8 --> LM13 via apt?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
OS2-User
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:55 pm

Upgrading from LM8 --> LM13 via apt?

Postby OS2-User » Sun May 27, 2012 11:48 am

Is there a realistic chance to upgrade from 32-bit LM8 Gnome to LM13 MATE via apt package upgrade or is this an already certain to be doomed endeavour, requiring a fresh installation?

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Upgrading from LM8 --> LM13 via apt?

Postby zerozero » Sun May 27, 2012 12:05 pm

i believe that deep, deep inside you know the answer to this query :wink:
jump through 5 editions via dist-upgrade :shock: is a shortcut to disaster.

backup your personal stuff and start afresh.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

crborga
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:09 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: Upgrading from LM8 --> LM13 via apt?

Postby crborga » Sun May 27, 2012 8:35 pm

yeah I agree, start fresh
Image

OS2-User
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:55 pm

Re: Upgrading from LM8 --> LM13 via apt?

Postby OS2-User » Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:46 am

You are right, I already feared that it would have to come to that.
I just should have spent more time in documenting all the changes and package replacements I made over time, so that it isn't as hard again after a fresh install.
At least this is a LTS, so if currently working stuff breaks again in the next releases, like it did for me since Helena, I have more time to sit it out then ;-)

dalcde
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 8:15 am

Re: Upgrading from LM8 --> LM13 via apt?

Postby dalcde » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:56 am

LM 10 to 12 for me was troublesome enough for me. Some sort of weird dependency problems that seemed impossible to solve. Finding support is even harder. So no.

But you can use Mint's backup tool to backup your package selection, so it shouldn't be hard to reinstall them (not really sure since I've never used it myself).


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests