losing DNS settings in Daryna (re-edited post)SOLVED

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
madevan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:42 am

losing DNS settings in Daryna (re-edited post)SOLVED

Post by madevan » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:23 am

I love daryna! but recently I had to rebuild - partition problems ( no matter)

I also entered in network setting put DNS settings 208.67.220.220 and 208.67.222.222 before my router default
I have found this necessary to get pidgin to work

If I put them back, they disappear not only on reboot but during the time I am logged on

I have looked for the files where the DNS are set but am none the wiser - WHAT IS resetting my DNS settings

What am I doing wrong?

Also
When I restart/reboot the screen setting is reduced to 1280,768 and the extra dns settings disappear

Evan
Last edited by madevan on Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1300
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: losing settings in Daryna when restarting

Post by 67GTA » Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:49 pm

You have to run nvidia-settings as root to make the settings stick. Run

Code: Select all

sudo nvidia-settings
in a terminal. Make the changes you want, and then click on the "Save to X Configuration File" button. This will add the 1280x1024 mode to your xorg.conf file. It should use that resolution at boot. I'm not sure about the DNS settings. You might need to make a new post in the Network section of the forums for that one. I'm sure someone will be able to help you with that one.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke

User avatar
madevan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:42 am

Re: losing DNS settings in Daryna (re-edited post)

Post by madevan » Sun Jun 08, 2008 5:08 pm

Thanks 67GTA - my screen settings are ok now :D

User avatar
madevan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:42 am

Re: losing DNS settings in Daryna (re-edited post)

Post by madevan » Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:44 pm

PLEASE close this record - I have decided that after 12 months on Mint I need a new distro - so looking elsewhere- I will continue to investigate to find out why my DNS network settings are changed back and not setting permanently with the additions I make. It is driving me mad. I Have looked deep into the workings but never seem to fix it. ergo another distro is needed thanks to all on Mint GREAT DISTRO Clem - madevan

User avatar
Tony G
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Laramie, WY, US

Re: losing DNS settings in Daryna (re-edited post)

Post by Tony G » Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:19 pm

Have you tried the two steps from here to make your DNS changes permanent?
"The greatest enemy of a good plan is the dream of a perfect plan."

--Carl von Clausewitz

User avatar
madevan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:42 am

Re: losing DNS settings in Daryna (re-edited post)

Post by madevan » Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:01 pm

Tony,
Thanks for trying to help - I have done what you suggested - the thing is that daryna does not wait for a reboot to remove my settings from resolv.conf
it usually does it within the hour. I have looked for a crontab entry but no avail. Something is resetting my DNS list back to the default (removing my opendns addresses)

I have tried to understand how they are being reset but cannot - I'd like to stay with Daryna or even upgrade to Elyssa but my confidence in Mint has been dented.

the dhclient.conf file remains as you sugested:-

#
# This is a sample configuration file for dhclient. See dhclient.conf's
# man page for more information about the syntax of this file
# and a more comprehensive list of the parameters understood by
# dhclient.
#
# Normally, if the DHCP server provides reasonable information and does
# not leave anything out (like the domain name, for example), then
# few changes must be made to this file, if any.
#
send host-name "<hostname>";
#send dhcp-client-identifier 1:0:a0:24:ab:fb:9c;
#send dhcp-lease-time 3600;
#supersede domain-name "fugue.com home.vix.com";
#prepend domain-name-servers 127.0.0.1;
prepend domain-name-servers 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220;
request subnet-mask, broadcast-address, time-offset, routers,
domain-name, domain-name-servers, host-name,
netbios-name-servers, netbios-scope;
#require subnet-mask, domain-name-servers;
timeout 30;
#retry 60;
#reboot 10;
#select-timeout 5;
#initial-interval 2;
#script "/etc/dhcp3/dhclient-script";
#media "-link0 -link1 -link2", "link0 link1";
#reject 192.33.137.209;

#alias {
# interface "eth0";
# fixed-address 192.5.5.213;
# option subnet-mask 255.255.255.255;
#}

#lease {
# interface "eth0";
# fixed-address 192.33.137.200;
# medium "link0 link1";
# option host-name "andare.swiftmedia.com";
# option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
# option broadcast-address 192.33.137.255;
# option routers 192.33.137.250;
# option domain-name-servers 127.0.0.1;
# renew 2 2000/1/12 00:00:01;
# rebind 2 2000/1/12 00:00:01;
# expire 2 2000/1/12 00:00:01;
#}

my router is a d-link DSL 504T

helpppppppppppppppppppp!

User avatar
Tony G
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Laramie, WY, US

Re: losing DNS settings in Daryna (re-edited post)

Post by Tony G » Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:06 pm

Well shoot, that is a stumper. I don't have anything else off the top of my head, but I'll ponder it. In the mean time, perhaps someone smarter than I will have a thought. Sorry I'm not immediately helpful.

Best,

Anthony
"The greatest enemy of a good plan is the dream of a perfect plan."

--Carl von Clausewitz

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”