Wavy scrolling

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Wavy scrolling

Postby varaahan » Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:29 am

In firefox and other window manager apps the scrolling is wavy.
How to avoid this.
My box is AMD 3000 + / 1 GB RAM / Asus mobo A8V-VM.

I had similar problem in Zenwalk but upon upgradation to its recent version 4.4.1, the problem automatically disappeared.

User avatar
mumbo719
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Tampa Bay, Florida
Contact:

Postby mumbo719 » Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:30 pm

Try changing the refresh rate in your screen resolution settings.

Did you run envy by any chance?

varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Postby varaahan » Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:42 pm

envy ? no !
I'll try to change the refresh rate and post soon.

User avatar
timmyflight
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: PA, USA

Postby timmyflight » Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:39 pm

I had the same problem before i installed envy, after that, the scrolling is nice and smooth :D
Image

Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, and your house
Acts 16:31

User avatar
mumbo719
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Tampa Bay, Florida
Contact:

Postby mumbo719 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:53 am

I would run the envy script to get the latest video drivers before I try to adjust the resolution.

Let us know how it works out.

varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Postby varaahan » Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:46 pm

See this:
sridhar@bianca:~$ sudo apt-get install envy
Password:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
envy is already the newest version.
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
dmsetup
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 6 not upgraded.
sridhar@bianca:~$ sudo apt-get autoremove
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
dmsetup
The following packages will be REMOVED:
dmsetup
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 6 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives.
After unpacking 90.1kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
(Reading database ... 89452 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing dmsetup ...


Even after this the screen is wavy.

Also changing the screen resolution to 800 X 600 did not solve the problem.

nick
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Wavy scrolling

Postby nick » Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:06 am

I think you have only installed Envy, you need to run it,
Press CTRL/ALT/F1 at same time, that will take
you out of Xserver, the type sudo envy, and choose your graphics card,
and install driver
Nick

varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Postby varaahan » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:42 am

My mobo has no ATI /NVidia card.
Running envy as su did not help.
Any other pointers ?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Fri Mar 09, 2007 2:06 pm

Envy is for ATI/nVidia. Find out what card you have, could be SiS or Matrox or Intel.
When you know that search for a driver in Synaptics, at least the driver for all (?) SiS cards is there and install the driver from synaptics.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5651
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Fri Mar 09, 2007 2:22 pm

I think you have only installed Envy


Not even... envy is already installed in Linux Mint (if you read the output of APT it does tell you that 0 packages were installed).

If you want the latest version of envy (0.8.2) you can get it from Romeo or from Alberto Milone's website (http://www.albertomilone.com/nvidia_scripts1.html)

Follow the tutorials and if you update upgrade to a different kernel (I know 2.6.17-11 is there for instance) don't forget to run envy again.

Clem

User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Postby NiksaVel » Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:01 pm

My mobo has no ATI /NVidia card.


he doesn't have neither ATI nor nVidia card... hence as I understand it he doesn't need envy at all...

varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Postby varaahan » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:00 pm

I think my mobo uses intel card. I'll try with synaptic shortly and post the results.

varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Postby varaahan » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:30 pm

My mobo has Integrated VIA Deltachrome Graphics Proceessing Unit . I don't know how to upgrade it with Synaptic.

varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Postby varaahan » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:46 pm

I upgraded/installed all the video drivers but still the problem persists.

varaahan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Chennai , India

Postby varaahan » Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:51 am

After a gap , i downloaded Cassandra (GNOME) and installed it.
The first thing I checked is for wavy scrolling and behold! It's gone !!

An Cassandra looks great !

May be the problem is with xorg ?

User avatar
kenetics
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on a Florida beach
Contact:

Postby kenetics » Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:57 pm

Same thing with me. Bianca and some other Linux distros left me with bad scrolling. Cassandra, Ubuntu Fiesty, PCLOS and OpenSUSE gives me smooth scrolling. I think it is because they support my video better, which is SiS 661.


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests