Bianca will not re-boot!

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Loves2Mint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:46 pm

Bianca will not re-boot!

Postby Loves2Mint » Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:50 pm

Bianca will shut down but just hangs when I select reboot from the quit menu. Please help.

metapy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:01 pm

Postby metapy » Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:34 am

Sounds like a problem with ACPI, you might want to try this:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... ost1738476

Loves2Mint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:46 pm

Bianca will not reboot

Postby Loves2Mint » Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:41 am

As I stated, Bianca does shut down correctly, it just will not reboot.

clivesay
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:41 pm

Postby clivesay » Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:39 am

what do you mean by "just won't reboot"? Does it reboot but come to a command prompt instead of gui? Do you not even get the Grub screen?

A little more detail would be helpfiul.

Loves2Mint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:46 pm

Bianca will not reboot

Postby Loves2Mint » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:52 am

Bianca looks like it is going to reboot but gets hung up at the last (2nd) Bianca GUI screen with moving dots. The dots stop moving after they have filled the bar and it just hangs.

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Bianca will not reboot

Postby scorp123 » Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:13 am

Loves2Mint wrote:Bianca looks like it is going to reboot but gets hung up at the last (2nd) Bianca GUI screen with moving dots. The dots stop moving after they have filled the bar and it just hangs.
The system comes to a halt (which is intended) but because of missing ACPI support the OS cannot tell the computer to power off. Maybe if you could modify your /boot/grub/menu.lst (I believe that's the right file name?) and check for the various entries in there ... e.g. there might be some lines saying something like:

Code: Select all

title LinuxMint
root (hd0,4)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18.8-0.1-default root=/dev/hda6 vga=0x317 resume=/dev/hda10 splash=verbose
initrd /initrd-2.6.18.8-0.1-default
This example is from one of my systems ... which tend to be heavily modified. Don't worry if your stuff looks different (it probably will).

What we want is that "kernel .... " line. Can you please edit the file and add this parameter:

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst


Add this parameter:

Code: Select all

acpi=force


So the relevant line in question looks something like this:

Code: Select all

kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18.8-0.1-default root=/dev/hda6 vga=0x317 resume=/dev/hda10 splash=verbose acpi=force


Can you then please try again if shutdown works for you?


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests