hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
samiel60
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:03 pm

hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by samiel60 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:41 pm

I didn't find enough information about hibernation and suspend-to-ram in 18.3.
So I ask you: are both active by default? How is it possible to manage them?
Can more or less swap usage influence the good working? I mean: is less swappiness a risk
(if for example it's 10 and not, as default, 60)?
Last, Nvidia proprietary drivers can make troubles?

thanx
s

User avatar
all41
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4849
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by all41 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:15 am

For hibernation it is suggested your swap partition be at least equal to installed ram.
'Swappiness' should not make a difference here.
Both suspend and hibernate may be hardware dependent though--some configurations perform flawlessly--
others will require mitigations.
Post back your terminal results of inxi -Fxz for consideration
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

samiel60
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by samiel60 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:39 am

Code: Select all

samielpc ~ #  inxi -Fxz 
System:    Host: samielpc Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: G10AC v: Rev X.0x
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 1101 date: 12/06/2013
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-4570 (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 25541
           clock speeds: max: 3600 MHz 1: 818 MHz 2: 942 MHz 3: 896 MHz
           4: 831 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GK104 [GeForce GTX 760 OEM] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 NVIDIA GK104 HDMI Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-3 Logitech Webcam C250 driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 003-002
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
           driver: rt2800pci v: 2.3.0 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: wlp4s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 6065.2GB (26.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_DT01ACA1 size: 1000.2GB temp: 35C
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: KINGSTON_RBU size: 64.0GB temp: 29C
           ID-3: /dev/sdc model: WDC_WD2002FAEX size: 2000.4GB temp: 37C
           ID-4: USB /dev/sdh model: My_Book_1140 size: 3000.6GB temp: 0C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 48G used: 17G (38%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1
           ID-2: /home size: 25G used: 674M (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc2
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 12.18GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdc8
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C gpu: 0.0:43C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info:      Processes: 259 Uptime: 4:06 Memory: 2689.0/7889.2MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
Moreover, I'd like to understand how can they be configured inside Mint
and if they're set or not by default
thanx

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by Spearmint2 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:58 am

you have 8GB of RAM and 12GB of Swap space, so you are good to go. You can check to see if it's available for use, but your readout indicates it is.

Code: Select all

swapon -s
As for the other questions, they don't really relate to swap use.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

samiel60
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by samiel60 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:09 am

Code: Select all

samielpc ~ # swapon -s
Filename				Type		Size	Used	Priority
/dev/sdc8                              	partition	11896828	96076	-1
Ok, bat in any case how is it possible to manage hibernation?
Is it set by default? Is it possible to stop it?
Is there anything in Setting or elsewhere?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7749
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by catweazel » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:30 am

samiel60 wrote:Ok, bat in any case how is it possible to manage hibernation?
Is it set by default? Is it possible to stop it?
Is there anything in Setting or elsewhere?
Hi. With all due respect, it's going to be far easier for everyone if you describe the problem rather than asking questions about what you think the problem is.

Cheers.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

samiel60
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by samiel60 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:43 am

In exit menu I read_
======================================
Suspend Hibernate Reload ...
======================================
It's not a problme, but I'd like to understadn the differences
between "suspend" and "hibernate"

thanx
s

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by Spearmint2 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:55 am

samiel60 wrote:In exit menu I read_
======================================
Suspend Hibernate Reload ...
======================================
It's not a problme, but I'd like to understadn the differences
between "suspend" and "hibernate"

thanx
s
Suspend keeps it all in RAM and then it sleeps. Hibernate writes it to the drive and then shuts down.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

samiel60
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by samiel60 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:08 am

Can u indicate me a guide or a how-to
where it's possible to understand what is worthwhile when,
in choosing the first or the second alternative?

thanx
s

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5734
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by Spearmint2 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:16 am

samiel60 wrote:Can u indicate me a guide or a how-to
where it's possible to understand what is worthwhile when,
in choosing the first or the second alternative?

thanx
s
It's personal preference. Try each one, see which one you like the best. Suspend resumes faster usually. It's what I always use. I've gone as long as 121 days without a reboot.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

User avatar
all41
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4849
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by all41 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:15 pm

Spearmint2 wrote:
samiel60 wrote:Can u indicate me a guide or a how-to
where it's possible to understand what is worthwhile when,
in choosing the first or the second alternative?

thanx
s
It's personal preference. Try each one, see which one you like the best. Suspend resumes faster usually. It's what I always use. I've gone as long as 121 days without a reboot.
This is a prime example of Linux stability--
121 days without a complete reinstall would be bragging rights using win
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

samiel60
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:03 pm

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by samiel60 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:09 pm

ok, I'll try both solutions
thanx
s

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1545
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by BG405 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:58 am

Suspend-to-RAM (Sleep) has the advantage of speed - especially resuming, which is practically instant. However, it does require some power & best to leave the PSU plugged in. It will eventually degrade the battery, especially if regularly left unplugged for long periods.

Suspend-to-disk (Hibernation) avoids this small additional battery wear but can take a while to fully restore the machine state, depending how much stuff you have running. It also requires sufficient swap.

As far as I know, both are enabled (available) by default on Mint installations.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

kwpatching
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:08 pm

Re: hibernation and suspend-to-ram

Post by kwpatching » Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:18 am

I have a PC with a Gigabyte Extreme MB with the last two kernel builds either going into hibernation hangs the system and going into suspend corrupts my BIOS and the MB has to reload it.

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”