What are good free open source streaming platforms? I want to make my own radio station

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
fruitkiller

What are good free open source streaming platforms? I want to make my own radio station

Post by fruitkiller »

I read how it is so very easy to broadcast what you are listening to, but not necessarily while you do, as you can turn down the sound and leave a sizeable playlist, with Audacious.

What would be a good site that's not some unknown place or a trial of a few days and then we're charging yet again for yet again another service. I have had experience doing my own radio station/podcast before, but it was in Windows 7 using VLC.

Right now, I don't really need technical help, I think I'm good, I'm a musician and have been playing around with advanced sound cards and even made my own WInamp remote in grade 12, needed a receptor box and a little coding and it was prretty easy, so I'm used to sound cards with mixers in them for example (I have one). What I can't seem to find is a good place to stream, that is not a ghost town, or a trialsite. I'm sure a good open source without fees streaming website exists somewhere, but I'm really tired right now, I looked for over an hour at duckduckgo results, then startpage but then I got really tired.

Anybody with some experience, their feedback would be welcome but really just anybody who knows of a great audio streaming site, like, I imagine stations are classified by the genres and has a large enough population that makes it worth it.

Would be much appreciated, thanks for your attention if you read this and better if you have something to reply :)
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.