Two sets of files...

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Arch_Enemy
Level 6
Level 6

Two sets of files...

Post by Arch_Enemy »

I have a master and a backup for my photos.

Some of the photos have been resized for posting, sharing and on-line exhibits. Unfortunately, the full size originals are on one drive and the downsized copies are on another, with the same file names.

I tried using rsync with the --ignore-existing and --size-only parameters, but of course this did not do what I want. I want to sync both drives so they have the larger size files on both drives. There are far too many to sort out and I'd like to be able to use a file transfer like rsync to mirror the drives with the larger files only.

Help me Obiwan-Kenobe...
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
I have travelled 37629424162.9 miles in my lifetime

One thing I would suggest, create a partition as a 50G partition as /. Partition the rest as /Home. IF the system fails, reinstall and use the exact same username and all your 'stuff' comes back to you.
WharfRat

Re: Two sets of files...

Post by WharfRat »

Check your source/destination wiht the -i option rsync -nai ./setclock ../script/setclock

I added a blank line to ./setclock and

Code: Select all

[bill@XPS] ~/junk $ rsync -nai  ./setclock ../script/setclock 
>f.st...... setclock
[bill@XPS] ~/junk $ 
Flemur
Level 20
Level 20

Post by Flemur »

Arch_Enemy wrote: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:32 amUnfortunately, the full size originals are on one drive and the downsized copies are on another, with the same file names.
Couldn't you just copy the originals over the resized ones? Or is the directory structure too weird for that?