[Solved]A few questions after install of 18.3 Mate 64bit

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Ohm Sweet Ohm

[Solved]A few questions after install of 18.3 Mate 64bit

Post by Ohm Sweet Ohm »

I very recently installed Linux Mint 18.3 Mate 64bit on a Dell laptop and have been following the '10 things to do first in Linux Mint 18.3 Mate'
I have a few questions:

I've watched videos on youtube and read articles about cleaning up old kernels, but I still don't understand what I am doing and don't want to do anything wrong.
I installed the latest kernel (4.4.0-116) and booted from it from the grub menu so I should be running 4.4.0-116. I don't know if I am or not.
How do I go about removing kernels that are not needed anymore?
I will need step by step instructions as I am very new to Linux.

When clicking the 'menu' button the words are small. Can I adjust them so that they are slightly bigger on my screen?

When scrolling using the Firefox browser it is not completely smooth. It's not really bad (I can live with it) but I'm wondering if a setting can be changed to make it completely smooth?

I would like to install a second simple browser but one which is updated regularly, in case Firefox stops working for whatever reason, but I would like one which will update using the 'Update Manager'.
I was thinking of Palemoon?

Thanks

Code: Select all

Kernel: 4.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: Dell product: XPS M1530
           Mobo: Dell model: N/A Bios: Dell v: A12 date: 11/19/2008
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo T7250 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 7979